Readied Actions - I can't believe after three years we are still confused over this!!

Our group has been having a certain degree of argument over the humble Readied Action.

The example used was:

A fighter moves 20' into position and then readies the following action:

When an opponent is 5' away from him, he will move 5' towards the opponent and attack it.

There are 5 DM's in our group so you can imagine the arguments when we disagree on something.
Now, the main protaganist has said that the PC has moved [Move Equivalent Action] and has then Readied an Action [Standard Action]. Thus when the time comes around to triggering the action, it can't be done until the player's next turn because they have already done their full compliment of actions for the round (move and standard).

I vehemently disagrees with this. To me the readied action is like a mini delay with the added bonus of being able to pre-empt an opponents actions. The act of readying effectively costs nothing - it is the action that is performed that "takes up the time" so to speak. I really like the other DM but could not disagree with his ruling in stronger terms.

Can anyone help us out here. If I'm wrong, I'll happily live with it but the former "ruling" makes it impossible to even ready a Standard Action. While the rule seems clear to me, the 3.5 book seems to be confusing enough members in our group that this thread is needed.

Any advice, help, counselling or support would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards
Herremann the Wise
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Some choice quotes from the SRD that should cover everything you need:

- Readying is a standard action.
- You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action.
- Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it.
- You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round.
 

I'm trying to find what's confusing your group in the text, and not having much luck ...

PH 3.5 pg. 160: "The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action ... You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action ... any time before your next turn, you may take the readied action ..."

Readying is listed as a standard action because it costs your standard action to ready an action, even if it's a free action you're readying. Not because the readying 'uses up' your standard action. One thing though-your example doesn't work because of the 5' move included. You can only include a 5' step in your readied action if you didn't move at all during your turn, and in the example, the character moved 20'.
 

Herremann the Wise said:
I vehemently disagrees with this. To me the readied action is like a mini delay with the added bonus of being able to pre-empt an opponents actions. The act of readying effectively costs nothing - it is the action that is performed that "takes up the time" so to speak. I really like the other DM but could not disagree with his ruling in stronger terms.

Effectively, yes... although since Readying is a Standard action, note that you can't for example, cast a spell and then ready a Move action. You can, though, move and then ready a Standard or Move action. This will, as you expect, allow you to take that action outside of your turn (after your turn is over but before your next turn begins), if the trigger condition arises.

However, the example you gave is illegal. Since you've already moved this round (20 feet), you cannot take a 5' step with your readied action. You can ready the attack, but (in this case) not the step-and-attack.

-Hyp.
 

One thing to note with readied actions:
You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.
Emphasis on the word: may. When the condition occurs, you have the option to take the action. You may choose not to do so. If the conditions are again met later in the round and you have not acted upon them earlier in the round, you may choose to take the action at that point.

Example: My barbarian readies an attack against something entering an area he threatens. The first thing to enter that area is his friend, the cleric. The barbarian may take the readied action, but decides against it. The cleric continues to move and gets far away from my barbarian. Then, a small group of goblins approaches. The barbarian decides not to attack the first one when it enters an area he threatens. Nor the second, third, fourth or fifth. When the sixth and final goblin enters an area he threatens, he decides to allow his readied action to trigger and attacks the goblin (which begins a great cleave chain, hopefully - which you can then repeat by waiting to use an AoO on the next set of goblins that are foolish enough to get too close).

On the other hand, if you pass on the ready trigger when it comes up, you run the risk of it not coming up again and you losing a round. Even if it does come up, you've lost 'time' as more of the round has gone by ...
 
Last edited:

jgsugden said:
One thing to note with readied actions: Emphasis on the word: may. When the condition occurs, you have the option to take the action. You may choose not to do so. If the conditions are again met later in the round and you have not acted upon them earlier in the round, you may choose to take the action at that point.

The 3.0 DMG has a section (ch. 3: "Combat Actions: Adjudicating the Ready Action") that says the DM can rule it this way, or in certain cases force the PC to (1) lose the ready to avoid taking the action, or (2) make a Wisdom check (DC 15) to avoid taking the action regardless. Was this removed from 3.5?
 

Herremann the Wise said:
Now, the main protaganist has said that the PC has moved [Move Equivalent Action] and has then Readied an Action [Standard Action]. Thus when the time comes around to triggering the action, it can't be done until the player's next turn because they have already done their full compliment of actions for the round (move and standard).

You have said it yourself: if this was the case, it would be simply impossible to ready a standard action, which instead it is clearly allowed.

But their confusion is very understandable. The authors could have added a simple note that the readied action doesn't require an extra action to take beside the standard action used for Ready itself.
 

In 3.0 there was a 'partial charge' (move up to your base move and attack once) that could be done as a partial action only in the situation where the character was limited to a partial action. Whether or not one could ready a partial charge was contentious though. Did the mechanic make it into 3.5 in any form?
 


Hypersmurf said:
However, the example you gave is illegal. Since you've already moved this round (20 feet), you cannot take a 5' step with your readied action. You can ready the attack, but (in this case) not the step-and-attack.

He could ready a Partial Charge (or whatever it's called in 3.5), though, right? "If an enemy comes within 10 feet, I charge and attack."
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top