random user
First Post
Let's say an archer says, "I ready an attack to fire as soon as the wizard casts a spell."
The wizard then on his turn casts a quickened spell, which is a free action.
What happens? I can see maybe a couple things, and I don't know which, if any, is right (which is why I'm asking).
The quickened spell is a free action and not really "casting a spell", so the readied action does not trigger. If the wizard then casts a regular spell, the archer can then attack.
The archer gets to attack as normal, and the damage, if any, is added to the DC of a concentration check which the wizard needs to make.
The archer gets to attack, but the quickened spell is immediate. The spell resolves and then the archer can attack.
The quickened spell is immediate, and the archer gets to attack. However, damage is resolved before the spell starts to cast, so the wizard, if still standing, can then cast the spell without making a concentration check.
Thanks in advance for any help with this rules question.
The wizard then on his turn casts a quickened spell, which is a free action.
What happens? I can see maybe a couple things, and I don't know which, if any, is right (which is why I'm asking).
The quickened spell is a free action and not really "casting a spell", so the readied action does not trigger. If the wizard then casts a regular spell, the archer can then attack.
The archer gets to attack as normal, and the damage, if any, is added to the DC of a concentration check which the wizard needs to make.
The archer gets to attack, but the quickened spell is immediate. The spell resolves and then the archer can attack.
The quickened spell is immediate, and the archer gets to attack. However, damage is resolved before the spell starts to cast, so the wizard, if still standing, can then cast the spell without making a concentration check.
Thanks in advance for any help with this rules question.