Ready Action Question

ender_wiggin

First Post
Just a quick question regarding the rules surrounding the ready action ability in 4th edition. What are the limitations regarding the assignment of the triggering condition.

I'm pretty sure I can say: attack this specific enemy X as soon as X gets within range of my attack.

Can I say?

1) I attack as soon as ANY hostile creature gets within range of my attack.

2) I attack as soon as ANY hostile creature gets within range of my attack OR a hostile creature reduces one of my friends to 0 hp and he's in range of my attack.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

The trigger must be an action. A single one. You can't make a list. Pick one.

You don't want to be too specific though, 'cause if the trigger doens't occur, you lose the action.
 

If the trigger must be a single action, how can you be more or less specific?

Secondarily, can your trigger be a free action taken by another creature? I do X when my friend whistles for me to do so?
 



If the trigger must be a single action, how can you be more or less specific?

Secondarily, can your trigger be a free action taken by another creature? I do X when my friend whistles for me to do so?

Its really up to the DM as to how specific a triggering condition needs to be. I would say personally I don't allow trigger conditions that include more than one comparison or condition, so if you try to set one that is "X or Y" then you're probably getting too tricky. Free actions CAN be triggers, but I also have a bit of a dim view of using that as a way to create outlandish trigger conditions on the sly. Remember, a whole round is 6 seconds long, the character doesn't have a lot of time to do a bunch of fancy logic, nor to explain some complex condition under which his ally is going to whistle. You'd be lucky in the middle of a fight if your buddy can even hear you or can spare the attention to listen. Only simple plans really work in combat.
 

Can I say?

1) I attack as soon as ANY hostile creature gets within range of my attack.
If the DM allows metagaming hostility, yes. Because of the way many powers work, enemies and allies can be determined by rules, but is sometimes less clear within the role-playing narrative.

Can I say?

2) I attack as soon as ANY hostile creature gets within range of my attack OR a hostile creature reduces one of my friends to 0 hp and he's in range of my attack.
One trigger allowed. I have to say that the first condition you typed includes the second condition as a subset.



I have a different question about this subject, one that I assume has been discussed, but I coulsn't find a thread that dealt with it.

Given the rule that one can't use immediate actions or opportunity actions during your own turn, how do folks deal with readied actions that would otherwise trigger such actions but do not because of that rule? Is it fair that a savvy monster readies a charge against the party squishy during the defender's turn so as to avoid triggering opportunity attacks? Is it legitimate if the players take advantage of the rule?
 

If the DM allows metagaming hostility, yes. Because of the way many powers work, enemies and allies can be determined by rules, but is sometimes less clear within the role-playing narrative.

Just delete "hostile" and skip all triggering creatures (is it a triggeree?) you don't want to attack.



I have a different question about this subject, one that I assume has been discussed, but I coulsn't find a thread that dealt with it.

Given the rule that one can't use immediate actions or opportunity actions during your own turn, how do folks deal with readied actions that would otherwise trigger such actions but do not because of that rule? Is it fair that a savvy monster readies a charge against the party squishy during the defender's turn so as to avoid triggering opportunity attacks? Is it legitimate if the players take advantage of the rule?

I allow it for monsters but the monster is better really smart to use that rule. For players I allow it as well. Adds one more tactical aspect. Nice to have but not essential.
 

Given the rule that one can't use immediate actions or opportunity actions during your own turn, how do folks deal with readied actions that would otherwise trigger such actions but do not because of that rule? Is it fair that a savvy monster readies a charge against the party squishy during the defender's turn so as to avoid triggering opportunity attacks? Is it legitimate if the players take advantage of the rule?
I have smart monsters do this all the time. I remember one scenario where the boss said to his minions "if this goes south, be ready to charge 'em." So when the boss went, all the minions immediate reaction's went off. The fighter had taken the OA on the boss... but the minions charged right by (still on the boss's turn), knocked out the Wizard, and flanked the fighter, so the bosses "must have CA" attack almost knocked out the fighter.

Then the players turns came up and they dealt with it. Always remember Tucker's Kobolds. Not every monster should be smart enough to destroy the party, but some of them should.

And my players take advantage of that all the time. Most usual case is save vs Immobilize. "I will charge x as soon as I can move." Which, incidentally, is a great way for monsters to get out of Visions of Avarice... unless they are slowed (I have a really smart Wizard player, hehe).
 

And my players take advantage of that all the time. Most usual case is save vs Immobilize. "I will charge x as soon as I can move." Which, incidentally, is a great way for monsters to get out of Visions of Avarice... unless they are slowed (I have a really smart Wizard player, hehe).

Saves happen at the end of your turn but you can't take actions at the end of your turn (PHB P269). Therefore, if you save vs immobilized at the end of your turn, you can't charge even so the trigger was met.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top