Ready Action Question

Saves happen at the end of your turn but you can't take actions at the end of your turn (PHB P269). Therefore, if you save vs immobilized at the end of your turn, you can't charge even so the trigger was met.
Uh-huh... and since saves are the last thing that happens on your turn, your turn is over as soon as you roll them. Pass or fail. You are not taking the action on your turn, you are technically taking it on the next person's turn. Works just fine.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Saves happen at the end of your turn but you can't take actions at the end of your turn (PHB P269). Therefore, if you save vs immobilized at the end of your turn, you can't charge even so the trigger was met.

Then you ready for "If somebody else does anything while I can move." The first action of whoever's turn follows yours will trigger your ready. Or ready for "the first time I can move and also use an immediate action."
 


Since this issue is now being discussed... what is the actual purpose of the rule that prohibits immediate actions during your turn?
 

It prevents PCs from setting up overly powerful chain reactions. They move and provoke, and then, get at free reaction with some class feature or power, and then.... etc.

It's simply a balancing tool, as it's too hard to predict what could be done with future powers/feats/features.
 

What doesn't make sense from my standpoint is this. Some of you guys are opposed to having to use the OR operator in your condition.

However, you also find that the condition "if any of these goblins swinging swords at friends comes within range of me" a perfectly plausible condition. I do too -- it sounds reasonable for a soldier to do that in a fight.


But in pure boolean speak, "any of these goblins" amounts to "Goblin 1 OR Goblin 2 OR Goblin 3 OR Goblin 4..."

So my argument would be that to a limited extent, compound triggers must be acceptable unless you take an extremely stringent approach to ready action conditions. I am also opposed to overly complicated conditions. The only logical solution is that the DM has to make fair and reasonable decisions regarding what can be a condition and what can't. Sub-optimal, but it looks like WOTC doesn't have explicit guidelines for this (else they probably would have been cited already).

The precise issue that came up in my game and triggered me to start this thread was the following: "If somebody tries to heal this downed enemy next to me, or if my leader dies, I attack him."

What do you think?
 

The objection is for the OR for the triggering action, not the targets of the triggered action.

Attack the first enemy that moves into range with X, is fine.

Your example has two different triggers. That doesn't work by RAW.
 

Uh-huh... and since saves are the last thing that happens on your turn, your turn is over as soon as you roll them. Pass or fail. You are not taking the action on your turn, you are technically taking it on the next person's turn. Works just fine.

So you say you save and the end of your turn ends before the triggered action will be taken? I think you save and as an immediate reaction to your succesful save your readied action is triggered. And after that you would end the end of your turn.

Just a nother question regarding this issue. Let's say you are inflicted with -2 to attack rolls (save ends) and immobilized (save ends). You ready, I charge the orc when I can move again. Your end of turn comes up. You roll the save vs. immobilized first (for whatever reason) and you succeed. In this case you couldn't charge b/c not all saves are made and it would still be the end of your turn.
 

So you say you save and the end of your turn ends before the triggered action will be taken? I think you save and as an immediate reaction to your succesful save your readied action is triggered. And after that you would end the end of your turn.

Just a nother question regarding this issue. Let's say you are inflicted with -2 to attack rolls (save ends) and immobilized (save ends). You ready, I charge the orc when I can move again. Your end of turn comes up. You roll the save vs. immobilized first (for whatever reason) and you succeed. In this case you couldn't charge b/c not all saves are made and it would still be the end of your turn.
The developers disagree with you, see Visions of Avarice FAQ.

Technically saves are simultaneous, you roll them sequentially only for real-time convenience.
 
Last edited:

I can't find anything that would relate to the question at hand (I checked the AP FAQ and the latest Update) would you be so kind and give me a link or quote the relevant part.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top