Readying Maneuvers (BO9S)

Sitara

Explorer
Can a BO9S class ready the same maneuver more than once? For instance,can a swordsage with desertstrike, and 3 maneuver slots ready desertwind 3 times?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Nope.

Every maneuver known is counted as being 'readied' or 'not readied', once used, it's 'not readied'.
So, technically you can, but it doesn't help you at all, all it does is reduce your options.

Others can probably explain it better than I can, though.
 

Nope, you can't ready a maneuver more than once.

This was discussed in another thread months ago, too.

Maneuvers in the Bo9S are not spells, and they did not copy-paste the rules for spells. You don't have maneuver 'slots' and you don't 'prepare' them. You just choose a certain number of your maneuvers known to be ready for use, by performing some meditations or exercises or prayers as appropriate.
 

Ok thanks. Now,

does cleave stack with a maneuver? That is, if I used excorcism of steel (a strike) and killed an opponent with it, could I then use cleave to attack the next opponent with the same bonuses from excorcism?

What about stances (punishing stance); does the cleave feat work with them?
 

Killing an enemy with a maneuver would activate Cleave, but you would only get a regular melee attack from it. Cleave doesn't say you get to repeat whatever you just did - it just says you get an extra melee attack, so a plain melee attack is all you get.

Stances affect all attacks you make, so the extra attack from Cleave would benefit from Punishing Stance.

That's my reading, anyway.
 


What Gloombunny and Nifft said.

Also, Exorcism of Steel was a poor choice of example; that maneuver only targets an opponent's weapon, damaging that weapon, not the opponent wielding it.
 

Remove ads

Top