Receiving a potion from an invisible comrade: AoO or No?

Enceladus said:
I would caution against reactionary house rules.

Huh?

Enceladus said:
What I meant was, a five foot square next to the dwarf. If he's in a square that is not in the threatened are of the attacker he is safe.

I know what you were saying. I still wouldn't allow someone to administer a potion from 5-feet away, i.e. not even in the next square. Remember, administering a potion is done "carefully". I don't think one can administer a potion carefully from across a hallway.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


kreynolds said:

A house rule in reaction to something without investigating all sides of the problem.


I know what you were saying. I still wouldn't allow someone to administer a potion from 5-feet away, i.e. not even in the next square. Remember, administering a potion is done "carefully". I don't think one can administer a potion carefully from across a hallway. [/B]

No, I don't think you do. A breakdown in communication has occured.

So where would they administer it?
 

1) Toad giving someone a potion is a Standard action. This is a given

2) If the PC receiving the potion wants to continue to dodge, duck and weave while Toad is trying to give them a potion, Toad will have to make a Dexterity check DC (15 + the spell level of the potion given) to successfully get the potion in to the PCs mouth. If Toad fails, the potion is not lost and Toad can try again on his next turn.I'd back off the DC's a little. Make it a DC 10

3) If the PC receiving the potion wants to stand still to receive the potion, this provokes an AoO. If hit, the PC will need to make a Concentration check, DC (15 + the amount of damage received) in order to still get the potion. If the PC does not make it, the potion is not lost and Toad can try again on his next turn. Again DC 10
 

Enceladus said:
1) Toad giving someone a potion is a Standard action. This is a given

2) If the PC receiving the potion wants to continue to dodge, duck and weave while Toad is trying to give them a potion, Toad will have to make a Dexterity check DC (15 + the spell level of the potion given) to successfully get the potion in to the PCs mouth. If Toad fails, the potion is not lost and Toad can try again on his next turn.I'd back off the DC's a little. Make it a DC 10

3) If the PC receiving the potion wants to stand still to receive the potion, this provokes an AoO. If hit, the PC will need to make a Concentration check, DC (15 + the amount of damage received) in order to still get the potion. If the PC does not make it, the potion is not lost and Toad can try again on his next turn. Again DC 10

Why 10? According to the DMG, drinking a potion works the same as casting a spell for Concentration check purposes. DC 15 + damage to see if you can drink it. And why should it be easy for someone to give a person completely absorbed in combat, who is ducking, weaving and dodging? 10 just seems to easy for me.
 

Enceladus said:
A house rule in reaction to something without investigating all sides of the problem.

Excuse me? Because you disagree with me you accuse me of not investigating all sides of the problem? That's rather prententious of you. I have looked at all sides of the problem and it paints a very clear picture for me. If you don't agree, that's fine, but the least you could do is respect that I have my own opinion without accusing me of simply making "reactionary house rules".

Enceladus said:
No, I don't think you do. A breakdown in communication has occured.

Then clear it up for me.

Enceladus said:
So where would they administer it?

In their ally's square, of course.
 

Enceladus said:
1) Toad giving someone a potion is a Standard action. This is a given

Where is this stated in the rules? Retrieving a stored item is a move-equivalent action. Picking up an item is a move-equivalent action. Drinking a potion is a standard action. Administering a potion to an unconcious creature is a full-round action.

I see nothing in the rules stating that giving someone a potion is a standard action, so I don't feel you are justified in stating it as though it were fact.

Enceladus said:
2) If the PC receiving the potion wants to continue to dodge, duck and weave while Toad is trying to give them a potion, Toad will have to make a Dexterity check DC (15 + the spell level of the potion given) to successfully get the potion in to the PCs mouth. If Toad fails, the potion is not lost and Toad can try again on his next turn.I'd back off the DC's a little. Make it a DC 10

3) If the PC receiving the potion wants to stand still to receive the potion, this provokes an AoO. If hit, the PC will need to make a Concentration check, DC (15 + the amount of damage received) in order to still get the potion. If the PC does not make it, the potion is not lost and Toad can try again on his next turn. Again DC 10

Now _these_ are house rules. I don't specifically have a problem with them, but they are house rules none the less.
 

kreynolds said:
Excuse me? Because you disagree with me you accuse me of not investigating all sides of the problem? That's rather prententious of you. I have looked at all sides of the problem and it paints a very clear picture for me. If you don't agree, that's fine, but the least you could do is respect that I have my own opinion without accusing me of simply making "reactionary house rules".

Dude,

I honestly do not know why you're getting upset with me and would like to make sure that nothing that I've said has been directed towards you at all and if it was construed as such than the fault lies with me not being exactly clear as to whom I was talking to. I am not accusing you of anything. I'm talking about reveal's house rule for his situation. I certainly am not trying to be pretentious at all and I absolutely respect your opinion, as a matter of fact!

Then clear it up for me.

I am not understanding what you are saying in regards to where a person should or should not be when administering a potion. I would like you to clear up exactly what you are saying for me so that I can discuss it with you.


I see nothing in the rules stating that giving someone a potion is a standard action, so I don't feel you are justified in stating it as though it were fact.

I'm assuming that since the rules state that taking a potion is a standard action, giving someone a potion would be one as well. If you think I'm wrong, please let me know why.



Now _these_ are house rules. I don't specifically have a problem with them, but they are house rules none the less.

amen brutha.
 

You can drink a potion as a free action if you have one of these, therefore solving the problem of potion-drinking permanently. :D
PotionHat.txt
 

Enceladus said:
Dude,

I honestly do not know why you're getting upset with me and would like to make sure that nothing that I've said has been directed towards you at all and if it was construed as such than the fault lies with me not being exactly clear as to whom I was talking to. I am not accusing you of anything. I'm talking about reveal's house rule for his situation. I certainly am not trying to be pretentious at all and I absolutely respect your opinion, as a matter of fact!

I'm not upset. I was just put off a little by your comment. I take your word that you weren't directing it at me, but you should be more careful when you make comments like that. Your post didn't specifically address anyone by name, but you quoted me in it, so it appeared that you were addressing me.

Imagine what would happen if you posted an insult at the bottom of a thread without specifically directing the comment at anyone. More often than not, the poster immediately prior to you will think you were addressing him/her.

I learned these kinds of things the hard way. :)

Enceladus said:
I am not understanding what you are saying in regards to where a person should or should not be when administering a potion. I would like you to clear up exactly what you are saying for me so that I can discuss it with you.

For a human to attack someone with a longsword in melee, they need to be standing within 5 feet. To hand an object to your pal, you need to be standing within 5 feet. But, to pour a potion down someone's throat, well, I don't think standing within 5 feet is gonna cut it, especially if that someone is knocked out. When you hand someone something, usually, they're meeting you half way. If they aren't, you have to get closer, like when you discreetly give something to someone from behind their back.

I just don't see how one could pour a potion down another's throat and the guy receiving the potion doesn't drop his guard.

Enceladus said:
I'm assuming that since the rules state that taking a potion is a standard action, giving someone a potion would be one as well. If you think I'm wrong, please let me know why.

I already did. If retrieving an item is a move-equivalent action, why wouldn't giving an item to someone be a move-equivalent action? Besides, somebody is doing the retrieving in that exchange, I promise. :)

Enceladus said:
amen brutha.

Gah! The last time I heard that, my players kicked the crap out of one of my favorite NPCs. *sniff* I still miss that evil jerk. *sniff*
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top