Reliable An Immediate Interrupts


log in or register to remove this ad

I'm definitely not a rules guy, but here is my take...

...no, it is not expended.

Looking at it in order of events...

- Reliable power hits it's target

- Immediate Interrupt occurs (which happens BEFORE the power was really used) that adds 4 AC (for example)

- Power only NOW 'actually' goes off, missing the target.



In other words, watching it unfold would look like the power simply missed, as it did just that.
 

I'm definitely not a rules guy, but here is my take...

...no, it is not expended.

Looking at it in order of events...

- Reliable power hits it's target

- Immediate Interrupt occurs (which happens BEFORE the power was really used) that adds 4 AC (for example)

- Power only NOW 'actually' goes off, missing the target.



In other words, watching it unfold would look like the power simply missed, as it did just that.

Ditto
 


If a Reliable power hits, but is negated, due to an Imeediate Interrupt. Is the power expended?

Reliable keyword:

If you miss every target when using a reliable power, you don’t expend the use of that power.

In order to miss a target, the target actually has to be legal. If a power is invalidated by an interrupt, usually this is because the target became illegal. As an example, if you have an immediate interrupt invalidate a daily power with Miss: Half damage, you don't take any damage because the power does not miss, it just doesn't occur at all.

If a power is invalidated as well:

If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, that action is lost.

That pretty much says it right there.
 

If a Reliable power hits, but is negated, due to an Imeediate Interrupt. Is the power expended?

So, you've got two answers and both are correct.

If the power misses because of something like Shield, which increases the AC so that the total now misses, then the power simply missed and reliable keeps it around.
If the power is negated because an immediate interrupt made the attempt invalid (probably due to instantaneous movement outside of the attack range) then the power is expended by the immediate interrupt rules DracoSuave cited.

Good luck.
 



I can see how you'd interpret it that way.

However, I'd go with the interpretation that was both more linguistically accurate and more fun for everyone at the table:
"did not hit anyone" == "missed all targets"
 

That brings up another question:

I know that if an interrupt invalidates an action, the action is lost. However, is the power activated by that lost action (reliable or otherwise) expended? It can be argued that the power itself could not be used at all, and was therefore not expended!
 

Remove ads

Top