Repose Domain

All,

The granted clerical power for the Repose domain, page 220 of the Forgotten Realms Faiths and Pantheons, grants a cleric Death Touch. “Death Touch: You may use a death touch once per day. Your death touch is a spell-like ability that is a death effect. You must succeed at a melee touch attack against a living creature (using the rules for touch spells). When you touch, roll 1d6 per your cleric level. If the total at least equals the creature’s current hit points, it dies.”

Has this been amended? It seems like a very strong domain power.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Aramis Simara said:
All,

The granted clerical power for the Repose domain, page 220 of the Forgotten Realms Faiths and Pantheons, grants a cleric Death Touch. “Death Touch: You may use a death touch once per day. Your death touch is a spell-like ability that is a death effect. You must succeed at a melee touch attack against a living creature (using the rules for touch spells). When you touch, roll 1d6 per your cleric level. If the total at least equals the creature’s current hit points, it dies.”

Has this been amended? It seems like a very strong domain power.

It doesn't seem overpowered. If the target has even one more hit point than the "damage" you do, your death touch has no effect at all. It's basically a one time/day save or die spell, with the save DC being d6*lev, and the check being against HPs. And it won't effect undead, constructs, etc.. Seems a tad powerful, but not overpowered.
 

Given the opportunity to explore exciting and potentially powerful PrC's sounds better to me. If you never take your cleric levels past 5th and from them on go PrCs then this ability is nerfed.

Basically, I'm saying that I rarely see any high level clerics that could toss around the amount of d6's that would make this powerful. In my opinion it's OK.
 

It's identical to the Death domain power in the PHB (Repose is a 'non-evil' version of the Death domain for non-evil death gods, as many of the Death domain spells are Evil).

Geoff.
 

You'd be able to take the same person out with a Flamestrike. But if you don't do enough damage on the Death/Repose domain you do nothing. With the Flamestrike you at least make them weaker, even if you allow a save.
 


Well, holy crap, yeah. That would be tremendiously over powered. I can see why you'd be concerned about it.
 

Yeah, well, that power still killed my monk in one of my first 3.0 games. Best stinkin' touch AC in the party, and the stinkin' Death cleric picks me to use his stinkin' domain power on. And rolls a stinkin' 20.

(Not that I'm bitter or anything.)
 

Christian said:
Yeah, well, that power still killed my monk in one of my first 3.0 games. Best stinkin' touch AC in the party, and the stinkin' Death cleric picks me to use his stinkin' domain power on. And rolls a stinkin' 20.

(Not that I'm bitter or anything.)
Hmmmmmmmmm, did your DM rule it a crit, go for a confirmation, and roll double the dice? I would have.
 

Technically its not damage, right? I thought you could only crit damage (even ability damage, etc.)

As an aside, would Death Ward prevent this?
 

Remove ads

Top