Greenfield
Adventurer
Let's look at the battle mat like a grid.
You start at square X1Y1 and you're attacking an opponent at x1y9.
A straight line would take you to X1Y8, and you'd have to end, since you can't overrun.
But if you divert by a single square, say to X2Y8, you could Ride By. By the movement rules, that actually isn't any longer a path than going to X1Y8, since the first diagonal is counted the same as straight.
Now, suppose the opponent is Huge, taking X0-X2Y9-Y11 (i.e. 15 foot base.) Now any variation of the "shortest path" you can take, as required by the Charge rules, won't allow the Ride By.
The FAQ answer says that, in essence, your target has to be one of the corners, and you have to take the shortest route that will allow you to pass and continue the ride by. So now you plot to X3Y8. Even though this isn't the shortest path to the monster, it is the shortest path you can take to allow the Ride-By.
You start at square X1Y1 and you're attacking an opponent at x1y9.
A straight line would take you to X1Y8, and you'd have to end, since you can't overrun.
But if you divert by a single square, say to X2Y8, you could Ride By. By the movement rules, that actually isn't any longer a path than going to X1Y8, since the first diagonal is counted the same as straight.
Now, suppose the opponent is Huge, taking X0-X2Y9-Y11 (i.e. 15 foot base.) Now any variation of the "shortest path" you can take, as required by the Charge rules, won't allow the Ride By.
The FAQ answer says that, in essence, your target has to be one of the corners, and you have to take the shortest route that will allow you to pass and continue the ride by. So now you plot to X3Y8. Even though this isn't the shortest path to the monster, it is the shortest path you can take to allow the Ride-By.