Ring of Spell Turning

Hypersmurf said:
Um, look it up in the DMG under.. wait for it... Ring of Spell Turning.

150,000gp.

-Hyp.

Hey, Hyp -- read that item description again. It's not continuous, it's command activated, and works "exactly as if spell turning had been cast on him", so the effect lasts 150 minutes after each activation ... or until discharged, of course.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pax said:


Hey, Hyp -- read that item description again. It's not continuous, it's command activated, and works "exactly as if spell turning had been cast on him", so the effect lasts 150 minutes after each activation ... or until discharged, of course.
The point is moot, though, since the poster in question can't really afford even the standard Ring of Spell Turning, and a continuous ring would undoubtedly be more than that...
 

Hey, Hyp -- read that item description again. It's not continuous, it's command activated, and works "exactly as if spell turning had been cast on him", so the effect lasts 150 minutes after each activation ... or until discharged, of course.

Your point? :)

He asked for "Or one that can say cast the spell 1/day or 2/day, etc." as well...

-Hyp.
 

Pax said:


Hey, Hyp -- read that item description again. It's not continuous, it's command activated, and works "exactly as if spell turning had been cast on him", so the effect lasts 150 minutes after each activation ... or until discharged, of course.

So the wearer can just activate it every 2 1/2 hours or so. Sounds pretty close to continuous to me. :)

Andargor
 

OO

Ok I could afford the 150000 if i only had that item but anyways was

I believe the formula calls it 32,760.

Spell Level S = 7
Caster Level C = 13
Command Word Activation F = 1800
1/day U = 1

S x C x F x (U/5) = 32,760.

For a slotless item like an Ioun Stone, that would double, to 65,520.

But again, your DM would have to vet it

Is this correct? Or is it ideally impossible for this item to be made? 1/day is all i really need especially since it would lsat 130 mins min or what not. Thanks for the discussion on it!
 

Quixon said:
This same thing came up on the WotC boards, Sage also said it was Command activated-not continous.

That's not the issue. Did the Sage specifically say that there's a limited duration once activated, computed from the referenced spell?
 

dcollins said:


That's not the issue. Did the Sage specifically say that there's a limited duration once activated, computed from the referenced spell?

No. But if its NOT continous-then it HAS to have a duration. Does it give one in the item desciption? No. But it says "EXACTLY as if Spell Turning had been cast on wearer".

So we go check Spell Turning-Duration is 10 min/level OR until discharged. Since items use their caster level=15th times 10 min level= 150 minutes OR until discharged.

It doesn't say exactly like spell turning, but with different duration or except the following.... it says EXACTLY like Spell Turning-you can't change the duration and have it still be exact can you?

You statement that a item MUST have the duration listed in the description is not true-AFAIK NOWHERE does it say that in DMG or PHB. Please give us the page # that says that.
 

From the current D&D Main FAQ, v. 05082003, page 31:

Does a ring require an “activate a magic item” action? Also, how frequently can one use a ring?

A ring is command activated (see page 192 in the DUNGEON MASTER’s Guide), unless the ring’s description says otherwise. Any such item requires a standard action to activate.

Unless otherwise stated in the ring’s description, there are no limits on the number of times it can be used or on how frequently it can be used. Since activating a ring requires an action, it usually cannot be activated more than once a round. Note that most rings function continuously once activated, which allows for virtually unlimited use unless the ring produces an effect that can be broken.

Permanent items in D&D do not just perform spellcasting duties on the wearer. They may replicate the effects of a spell in some circumstances, but they function via very different mechanics.
 
Last edited:

dcollins said:
Permanent items in D&D do not just perform spellcasting duties on the wearer. They may replicate the effects of a spell in some circumstances, but they function via very different mechanics.

Yes, but in the case of the Ring of Spell Turning it specifically states: "exactly as if spell turning had been cast on the wearer."

The effect, btw, can be broken -- referring to the text you emphasised yourself. And "most rings" != "all rings"; the ring of Spell Turning, when activated, remains active for 150 minutes, or until 1d4+6 levels of spell have been turned -- whichever comes first.

It must then be activated again.
 

Ridiculous. That's the most absurd and tortured rules mangling I've seen in a long time here. The phrase "most rings" must indicate "by default, unless otherwise noted". In the face of that, trying to paste on a meaningless duration limit, for an item that has no duration limit, is just preposterous.

In addition, what you're snipping out of the item quote is the clause "reflects spells cast at the wearer, exactly as if spell turning had been cast on the wearer." The effect is exactly like the spell, not the components or range or duration or anything else. That's exactly what I'm talking about, that items by the rules commonly share the effect of a spell but none of the other trappings.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top