Ring of Sympathy Ruling Required

Markn

First Post
The property on a Ring of Sympathy is as follows:

Once per round, when you save, one ally within 5 squares of you who is also wearing a ring of sympathy can make a saving throw.

The DM and players disagreed on the interpretation, particularly the phrase - when you save. I'm looking for help.

One camp, the DM believes the phrase, when you save, means a successful saving throw.

The other camp, the players, believe that just making a save is sufficient.

The DMs concern is that viewing it from the players point of view, the original owner of the ring makes a save (say at end of turn), which then gives the other rings owner a save which then triggers the original ring wearer to get another save. It is limited in that it is only once a round but getting 2 saves (end of turn save, and then retriggering the other ring owners property) in immediate succession doesn't seem quite right. Is that the intent of this ring?

This is so badly worded that it could be taken either way.

Help!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

yay a thread that can be solved with semantics. How rare you are!

A saving throw is a throw of the dice in an attempt to save against an effect. (save ends) = when you save it ends.

A successful saving throw IS when you save. If you fail a saving throw you don't save.
 

Yeah, I'd have to agree that I think a save is a successful result of a saving throw. I think also that if you think about it, that's got to be the intent of the item as well. Otherwise it's a free saving throw EVERY round, guaranteed.

I'm certain the intent is that 50/50 chance that a comrade gets an extra saving throw once a turn, not an absolute guarantee of an extra saving throw every turn.

They really do need to change the wording of that, though.
 


IMO, the text itself is sufficient. Note that the property itself provides a description of two things: "when you save" and "can make a saving throw." If the property intended the same thing then it would use the same text both times. But, it doesn't. "Make a saving throw" is pretty darn clear, so by using a different phrase, "when you save", it most likely means something different.
 


PHB 179



The DM is correct. Rules text.

Perfect! Thanks.

BTW, its page 279. I couldn't find it so I did a text search for your phrase and found it on 279. ;)

Edit: I2K - With this particular passage in the PHB, I certainly agree that the wording is just fine now!
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top