Rules Question about attacks and quickdraw


log in or register to remove this ad


Jdvn1 said:
A shield can be used as a weapon.

Yeah - my ruling on this is that you can quickdraw a shield, but you can only bash with it, not gain the shield bonus, until you take a move action (or a regular move) to ready it.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Yeah - my ruling on this is that you can quickdraw a shield, but you can only bash with it, not gain the shield bonus, until you take a move action (or a regular move) to ready it.

-Hyp.

that's cool i like it
 

Hypersmurf said:
Yeah - my ruling on this is that you can quickdraw a shield, but you can only bash with it, not gain the shield bonus, until you take a move action (or a regular move) to ready it.
Just because it's a weapon, or more appropriately, a weapon-like object, does not mean it is not "out of easy reach", which is the significant caveat. Unfortunately, there's no rule on how a shield is transported when "loosed". You could just say carried, which would obviously be in easy reach, but most descriptions I've seen / read have such shields carried on the back.
 



Dross said:
So you would be happy with a disarm attempt to remove a sheild because the shield could be used as a weapon?
Is there rules justification to do otherwise?

I might rule that a Shield can only be disarmed if it's being used as a weapon.
 

you can use a gauntlet as a weapon too would you argue that a character can be dissarmed of their gauntlets of ogre power with just a dissarm check? or that they can take gauntlets off and put on another pair during a full attack action?

EDIT the above makes locked gauntlets pretty funny:
Person A:"i'm safe from your disarm attempts, my sword is locked into my gauntlet haha"
Person B:"well i'll just take your gauntlet off you then"
Person A:"damn"
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
Like bows, greatswords, shortspears, and the like?
Bows and shortspears, yes. Greatswords are in a scabbard, aren't they? Being located on your back isn't the hindrance, it's being strapped to it. Now, if you can keep that bow or shortspear in your quiver, then you're good to go. ;)
 

Remove ads

Top