Ruling on spell timing

Space Coyote

First Post
I need some opinion for a game mechanic ruling:

1) The spell Cloudkill states that it moves 10' each round. Since it comes into being on the initiative of the person that casted the spell, I thought it was safe to assume that it would move on the same iniative as the person that casted the spell.
2) If that same caster casts another spell that has a 1 round casting time, this new spell would go off at the beginning of their next turn.

Therefore, on the casters next turn, what should be resolved first? The Cloudkill would move its 10' and then the casters 1 round spell goes off? Or the casters 1 round spell would go off, then the Cloudkill moves?

Thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There's no clear RAW on this, but I personally let the caster decide, which makes it whatever is to the caster's advantage. However, once set then that remains the order in which they occur (if it ever becomes relevant again).
 

Space Coyote said:
Therefore, on the casters next turn, what should be resolved first? The Cloudkill would move its 10' and then the casters 1 round spell goes off? Or the casters 1 round spell would go off, then the Cloudkill moves?

The 1 round spell technically comes into effect immediately before the caster's next turn (thereby allowing him an action on the new turn). Then, the Cloudkill moves on his actual turn.
 

Space Coyote said:
I need some opinion for a game mechanic ruling:

1) The spell Cloudkill states that it moves 10' each round. Since it comes into being on the initiative of the person that casted the spell, I thought it was safe to assume that it would move on the same iniative as the person that casted the spell.
2) If that same caster casts another spell that has a 1 round casting time, this new spell would go off at the beginning of their next turn.

Therefore, on the casters next turn, what should be resolved first? The Cloudkill would move its 10' and then the casters 1 round spell goes off? Or the casters 1 round spell would go off, then the Cloudkill moves?

Thanks in advance.

1) Correct.

2) No, the spell comes into effect "just before" their turn.

SRD35 said:
A spell that takes 1 round to cast is a full-round action. It comes into effect just before the beginning of your turn in the round after you began casting the spell. You then act normally after the spell is completed.

So, the 1 round casting time spell goes off first. Then it's the player's turn, the cloudkill moves 10', the character can now act.

Andargor

EDIT: Err, what dcollins said. ;)
 


Oops, yeah, I agree with the above. I was thinking two separate one-round spells, or even two 1-action spells on your turn, at which point there is no clear distinction which one happens first. :)
 

Total agreement with DC.
Infiniti2000 said:
Oops, yeah, I agree with the above. I was thinking two separate one-round spells, or even two 1-action spells on your turn, at which point there is no clear distinction which one happens first. :)
I think it would be, whichever was cast first. Practically, you can't cast two spells at the same time.
 

werk said:
I think it would be, whichever was cast first. Practically, you can't cast two spells at the same time.
Well, my first response is my answer to this point. I give the caster the benefit of the doubt to be able to, for lack of a better term, sort the same-time spells how he wishes. But, once sorted, they stay that way.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Well, my first response is my answer to this point. I give the caster the benefit of the doubt to be able to, for lack of a better term, sort the same-time spells how he wishes. But, once sorted, they stay that way.
...
There's no clear RAW on this, but I personally let the caster decide, which makes it whatever is to the caster's advantage. However, once set then that remains the order in which they occur (if it ever becomes relevant again).

I guess I still don't know how you could cast two spells at the same time with the same casting time. Spells cast on the same round with the same casting time are resolved in sequential order IMC.
 

Right, you don't cast them at the same time. Say you cast Summon Monster I twice. After the second one is completed, does the first monster act before the second monster acts? In other words:

R1: start casting SMI
R2: M1 acts, start casting SMI again
R3: M1 acts, M2 acts, do whatever you want

Or, is Round3
R3: M2 acts, M1 acts, do whatever you want

I say it's whichever way the caster wants it. I think the RAW is undefined. What I think is clear is that you can't change Round2 to be:

R2: start casting SMI again, M1 acts
 

Remove ads

Top