Ruling on spell timing

Infiniti2000 said:
Right, you don't cast them at the same time. Say you cast Summon Monster I twice. After the second one is completed, does the first monster act before the second monster acts? In other words:

R1: start casting SMI
R2: M1 acts, start casting SMI again
R3: M1 acts, M2 acts, do whatever you want

Or, is Round3
R3: M2 acts, M1 acts, do whatever you want

I say it's whichever way the caster wants it. I think the RAW is undefined. What I think is clear is that you can't change Round2 to be:

R2: start casting SMI again, M1 acts

In this specific case, since they all have the same initiative (the caster's), wouldn't you go by order of initiative modifier? And in case of equal initiative modifiers, roll opposed checks to see who/what acts first?

Andargor
 

log in or register to remove this ad

R3: M1 acts, M2 acts, (player's init)

That's the order I'd use.

The init question is good, but I don't re-roll or adjust init for summoned monsters, they go on their caster's init (or just before it). The caster is in control, so is the only init that counts...
 

Thanks for all the feedback.

This is what happened on my last gaming session: Previously in the fight, the Wizard had cast Cloudkill. At the beginning of his turn, we would advance the Cloudkill 10'. On one round, the Wizard started casting Enlarge Person on a team mate (which has a 1 round casting time).

Before the wizards next turn, the team mate moved onto the other side of the cloud. Since the Wizard no longer had line of sight to the team mate (and you make all pertinent decisions regarding the spell when it comes into effect), he was unable to cast it on that character. BUT if the cloud moved first, then he would have line of sight.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top