Scrolls and Armor

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
My SRD says that you just need to read a scroll in order to activate it. That sounds like there is no somatic component. But then it says that reading a scroll is subject to arcane spell failure just like casting a spell. :confused:

Does activating a scroll require a somatic component?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd say so. We always ruled that you have to speak it aloud in order for the scroll to activate. Just thinking won't do it, after all, you need a trigger of some sort.
 

Mine doesn't say you "just" need to read it.

Activate the Spell: Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus. (The creator of the scroll provided these when scribing the scroll.) Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell. Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be. Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance.
To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

The only things not required are material components or foci.


Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that’s left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can’t already cast the spell, there’s a chance he’ll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.
 

irdeggman said:
Mine doesn't say you "just" need to read it.

The only things not required are material components or foci.

So hopping up and down on one foot, a virginal sacrafice, and a conjunction of the nine planets ARE required? You can't say somatic components are required just because the text says a couple of other things are not.

That backward reference under spell activation items shows that you are right (thanks for the quote). The text under how to read a scroll certainly does not.
 

Ki Ryn said:
So hopping up and down on one foot, a virginal sacrafice, and a conjunction of the nine planets ARE required?
And which spells require a virgin sacrifice or a conjunction of planets? :p
 

Remove ads

Top