See Invisibility castable on others?

Sorry to rock the boat, but I disagree with this.

See Invisibility has a range of 100ft + 10/lvl. I read this as the spell can be cast up to 100ft +10/lvl from the caster. This therefore means that it can be cast on someone else.

You could argue that the range is the distance that you can see anyone who is invisible. But how often in a dungeon do you get to see 100ft + 10/lvl? This strikes me as a little absurd.

To back this up look at Summon spells. They all have a range but no target. These indicate that you can summon a creature up to the range distance from the caster, and it acts from there.

I also disagree with the character meaning the caster. The character to me means the person who the spell has been cast on. This could be a player character or a none player character, not just the caster.

This is my opinion anyway, sorry if it disagrees with yours.

Tony
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The range description is there for True Seeing as well... In that case, it is specifically limiting how far you can see invisible/ethereal things.

All this discussion would have been avoided had the spell description contained:


Target: You

OR

Target: Creature Touched

as MOST other spells in the PHB.
 

Yep.. it should be more explicit. I think the way to explain it is this way: EVERY spell has a target of the caster unless it explicitly states so. Invisibility for example says "personal or touch" and "the character or creature."

Although spells like True Strike say "Range: Personal" and it's easy, spells that have cone effects can't use this.

So I think this is a pretty good rule to follow. Too bad it's not in the PHB! Oh, revisioners!
 

green slime said:
The range description is there for True Seeing as well... In that case, it is specifically limiting how far you can see invisible/ethereal things.

All this discussion would have been avoided had the spell description contained:


Target: You

OR

Target: Creature Touched

as MOST other spells in the PHB.

Unfortunately if it did that, you couldn't use Enlarge Spell on it.
 

wanderer9 said:
Sorry to rock the boat, but I disagree with this.

See Invisibility has a range of 100ft + 10/lvl. I read this as the spell can be cast up to 100ft +10/lvl from the caster. This therefore means that it can be cast on someone else.

You could argue that the range is the distance that you can see anyone who is invisible. But how often in a dungeon do you get to see 100ft + 10/lvl? This strikes me as a little absurd.

To back this up look at Summon spells. They all have a range but no target. These indicate that you can summon a creature up to the range distance from the caster, and it acts from there.

I also disagree with the character meaning the caster. The character to me means the person who the spell has been cast on. This could be a player character or a none player character, not just the caster.

This is my opinion anyway, sorry if it disagrees with yours.

Tony

Nope, it's a cone. Cones always originate at the caster. It obviously doesn't grant the ability to see invisibility to everyone in the cone area of effect, so that leaves only the option that the caster sees in a cone area as the spell must originate from him. Summon Monster not being a cone area of effect can be cast out to the range of the spell, and so is a different case. As for the range, does you character live in dungeons, does he never go anywhere else? Lastly the copy of the spell I'm looking at in the PHB not once says "the character", it says only you which does of course refer to the caster because obviously you are not a monster or anyone else. Spells in the PHB are all written from the POV of the caster.
 

Oni said:
Lastly the copy of the spell I'm looking at in the PHB not once says "the character", it says only you which does of course refer to the caster because obviously you are not a monster or anyone else. Spells in the PHB are all written from the POV of the caster.

The SRD states "the character" clearly (can't check my PHB, it's not with me):
See Invisibility

Divination
Level: Brd 2, Sor/Wiz 2
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Area: Cone
Duration: 10 minutes/level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: No

The character sees any objects or beings that are invisible, as well as any that are astral or ethereal, as if they were normally visible.

The spell does not reveal the method used to obtain invisibility, though an astral traveler is easy to identify if he has a silver cord. It does not reveal illusions or enable the character to see through opaque objects. It does not reveal creatures who are simply hiding, concealed, or otherwise hard to see.

Even in the SRD there is no Target stated, so by the wording I would take it as being able to be on the caster only.
 

I don't see it in the SRD and I don't have my PHB with me, so someone may want to look this up. But IIRC, there is a general rule that Divination spells only apply to the caster. Check in the section on schools of magic ...
 

Remove ads

Top