Shades and Daylight Spells

Wraithdrit

First Post
One of my players is a Shade Monk. We are trying to figure out how the following rules interact. From Races of Faerun:

"All shades have the following powers when within shadows or darkness. In well-lit surroundings (daylight or the radius of a daylight spell) none of these powers function."

And...

"Control Light (Sp): The shade can decrease the levels of light within a 100-ft radius by a factor of 10% per level. For characters and creatures dependent on light to see, this decreases the effective range of vision for them by the same percentage. For each 25% decrease in light, anyone within the area gains a +1 circumstance bonus on Hide checks."

Now, the question. Does a shade's power to control light allow him to dim a Daylight spell if he is out of the bright area (60ft radius) of the spell? The first line of the restriction (first quote) seems to indicate that it matters where the shade is at. The second line seems to indicate the location of the shade does not matter, but rather his powers just plain do not work in well lit surroundings.

Thoughts? Opinions?

Thanks,
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would rule yes, under certain circumstances.

The ability is SP (spell-like). That means that for all intents and purposes, it is a spell.

Spells (and spell-like abilities) can affect each other.

So, if the Shade is within 100 feet of any portion of the daylight spell AND the area he is in is not daylight (or this or another daylight spell), then his ability works.

Nothing in what you quoted indicates otherwise.
 

Remove ads

Top