Shapechange and an 18th level Sorcerer

Just turn into a Tarrasque. The only abilities you WOULDN'T get are the frightful aura and the DR. You'd get the SR, Carapace, keen bite, 40 Regen, burst of speed, and the rest, since they're Extraordinary abilities.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Except that some DMs will rule that the tarrasque is a unique creature, and so its form cannot be duplicated.

gfunk: Dwarmaj may be correct regarding the fact that extra limbs possibly do not equal extra natural attacks, but I tend to play it the other way anyway. It would simply be odd if you were forced to choose 2 random attacks from the pit fiend's list of attacks according to the limit set by your BAB.
 

ruleslawyer said:
Except that some DMs will rule that the tarrasque is a unique creature, and so its form cannot be duplicated.


If I tried to pull the "I change into a Tarrasque" crap IMC, my DM would ban the spell in a minute. And rightly so . . .:D


ruleslawyer said:
gfunk: Dwarmaj may be correct regarding the fact that extra limbs possibly do not equal extra natural attacks, but I tend to play it the other way anyway. It would simply be odd if you were forced to choose 2 random attacks from the pit fiend's list of attacks according to the limit set by your BAB.

Yes, the exact wording (IIRC) is extra limbs. Call me stupid, but I don't think wings, fangs, and tail applies.
 
Last edited:

ruleslawyer said:
Except that some DMs will rule that the tarrasque is a unique creature, and so its form cannot be duplicated.

To quote the PHB (p 250, Shapechange desc):

As Polymorph Other, except this spell enables you to assume the form of any single creature of less than deity status (including unique dragon types, or the like )...
 
Last edited:

Right. I would classify the tarrasque as "or the like."

And don't tell me you're reading this sentence to suggest that the spell allows shapechanging into "unique dragon types, or the like."
 

ruleslawyer said:
And don't tell me you're reading this sentence to suggest that the spell allows shapechanging into "unique dragon types, or the like."

Actually, that's EXACTLY what it sounds like it's saying. Parenthetical commentary usually applies to the main subject immediately prior, which in this case would be 'any single creature of less than deity status'. It's what's implied by the way it's worded.

As for what it REALLY means, who the frik knows? It could be argued either way, with the wording.
 

Remove ads

Top