"If a character had a Spiked Chain and the Cleave feat, would you allow them to use their Cleave attempt to Trip someone? By the rules, this is allowed, even though it doesn't say (under Cleave or Trip) that you can "combine" these feats/tactics.
If someone has Cleave and Greater Cleave, do you allow them to take advantage of both? If I kill someone, can I Cleave AND Great Cleave the same opponent? By the rules I beleive this is allowed (someone correct me if I am wrong)."
No I wouldn't, but that would be a house rule. We decided that if your attack kills, your cleave must do damage. Purely conjecture, but the nature of the Feat is that you swing hard enough to kill something and then follow through. Our ruling was that following that up with a trip isn't in the spirit of the Feat.
As to Cleave and Greater Cleave, no because you can't have two "simultaneous" attacks. They both must take place immediately, so by definition one can't follow the other.
"Speed is stated not to stack with Haste. TWF is not stated not to stack with Rapid Shot."
Nor is it stated to specifically stack with Rapid Shot. Nothing definitive there.
Both Feats still are a benefit. Both allow you to get an extra attack, through different means and for different types of combat. Don't like them? Don't take them.
"How is it not a house rule? You are clearly basing your "interpretation" off of old 3.0 rules, not 3.5. No where, as it is written in the 3.5 rules, does it suggest that TWF + Flurry + Rapid Shot don't stack. It does in 3.0, but not 3.5. There is a also a difference between how the "3.5 mechanics are supposed to work" and how they actually DO work. One is written in the rule book, the other is being made up by you..."
Last time I'm saying this. We are making nothing up. Nowhere in the PHB is there an example of all three of these mechanics being used in the same attack sequence. We use the 3.0 ruling because it's the only written example we have, and unless Skip Williams shows up at my door telling me that we were mistaken about 3.5 and the ambidexterity removal, it's not changing. That's not a House rule, it's how we view the rules governing the two feats.
Now I really am wasting my time, so I'll make it easier for everyone.
*Cut and paste opportunity*
"You are right! I see your wisdom!"
-Jesuit
I never have understood the incredible need of people on message boards to be right. If it is so important for you to be correct about TWF + Rapid Shot + Flurry, then be my guest. I'll never agree, but so what. Just cut my comment, add it to your post or sig or whatever, and have a nice life. Good day.
If someone has Cleave and Greater Cleave, do you allow them to take advantage of both? If I kill someone, can I Cleave AND Great Cleave the same opponent? By the rules I beleive this is allowed (someone correct me if I am wrong)."
No I wouldn't, but that would be a house rule. We decided that if your attack kills, your cleave must do damage. Purely conjecture, but the nature of the Feat is that you swing hard enough to kill something and then follow through. Our ruling was that following that up with a trip isn't in the spirit of the Feat.
As to Cleave and Greater Cleave, no because you can't have two "simultaneous" attacks. They both must take place immediately, so by definition one can't follow the other.
"Speed is stated not to stack with Haste. TWF is not stated not to stack with Rapid Shot."
Nor is it stated to specifically stack with Rapid Shot. Nothing definitive there.
Both Feats still are a benefit. Both allow you to get an extra attack, through different means and for different types of combat. Don't like them? Don't take them.
"How is it not a house rule? You are clearly basing your "interpretation" off of old 3.0 rules, not 3.5. No where, as it is written in the 3.5 rules, does it suggest that TWF + Flurry + Rapid Shot don't stack. It does in 3.0, but not 3.5. There is a also a difference between how the "3.5 mechanics are supposed to work" and how they actually DO work. One is written in the rule book, the other is being made up by you..."
Last time I'm saying this. We are making nothing up. Nowhere in the PHB is there an example of all three of these mechanics being used in the same attack sequence. We use the 3.0 ruling because it's the only written example we have, and unless Skip Williams shows up at my door telling me that we were mistaken about 3.5 and the ambidexterity removal, it's not changing. That's not a House rule, it's how we view the rules governing the two feats.
Now I really am wasting my time, so I'll make it easier for everyone.
*Cut and paste opportunity*
"You are right! I see your wisdom!"
-Jesuit
I never have understood the incredible need of people on message boards to be right. If it is so important for you to be correct about TWF + Rapid Shot + Flurry, then be my guest. I'll never agree, but so what. Just cut my comment, add it to your post or sig or whatever, and have a nice life. Good day.
Last edited: