Sidewind Charging, driving me nuts.

Kitirat

First Post
Ok so with the 4th ed rules (and the minatures rules) you now can make a move and attack in the same round with a charge attack.
(can not go over difficult terrain or through allies).

So what is eveyone doing? We car calling it the sidewinder.
You take a 5ft step so no AOO with your first move action them make a curved move around them to the squishy center behind them. So you disengage from combat and run around the guy protecting the guy behind him and it is considered a charge no less! Only does not work against fighters (who get the AOO anyway).

Just seems against the flavor I'm interested in to have someone leave combat and do a circle around them to attack their allies behind them and get a +1!

Anyone see a rule I am missing against this?

Thanks,
Ken
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The character is losing the ability to use his actual abilities, which for characters who aren't str based is a really big deal. Also remember that character who are actually supposed to "protect the squishies" have actual abilities (like marks, or for higher level monsters much nastier abilities) which, well, protect the squishies.

I'm fairly sure it's not overpowered, I don't see how it breaks WSoD, it's just different to 3.x.
 
Last edited:

Kitirat said:
So what is eveyone doing? We car calling it the sidewinder.
You take a 5ft step so no AOO with your first move action them make a curved move around them to the squishy center behind them. So you disengage from combat and run around the guy protecting the guy behind him and it is considered a charge no less! Only does not work against fighters (who get the AOO anyway).
5 ft. step = shift = move action
Moving around the target = move action (takes standard action)
Charge = Standard Action (Not available after moving twice without an action point)


scalegloom said:
CHARGING: As a standard action, you can launch
yourself forward and make a melee basic attack. Move
your speed as part of the charge. At the end of your
move, you make a melee basic attack with a +1 bonus to
the attack roll. You must move at least 2 squares from
your starting position, and you must charge to the
nearest unoccupied square
from which you can attack
the enemy. Charging provokes opportunity attacks.
After a charge. you can't take any further actions unless
you spend an action point.

Or did I miss something?
 


malcolm_n said:
5 ft. step = shift = move action
Moving around the target = move action (takes standard action)
Charge = Standard Action (Not available after moving twice without an action point)




Or did I miss something?


That doesn't mean you cannot, if you have the movement available, loop around.

It would be against the spirit, true.

To be honest, I don't have a lot of problems with this. They get to move their normal distance +2, with a basic attack only, and will provoke OA's on anybody they go near.

I guess I'd need to play it out a bit.
 

VannATLC said:
They get to move their normal distance +2, with a basic attack only, and will provoke OA's on anybody they go near.

Where are you getting this +2 movement from? It's not in the rules anywhere, which merely says "move up to your Speed." Remember charging is not the same as running (which is a +2 movement).
 

The problem is, you're allowing the shift first. You cannot shift in the same round that you move. The rules are the same as 3e in this instance.
 

Mourn said:
Where are you getting this +2 movement from? It's not in the rules anywhere, which merely says "move up to your Speed." Remember charging is not the same as running (which is a +2 movement).


Oh.

NM that then :D

I had it stuck in my head.
 

malcolm_n said:
5 ft. step = shift = move action
Moving around the target = move action (takes standard action)
Charge = Standard Action (Not available after moving twice without an action point)

Or did I miss something?
B is Brute
S is Squishie
P is PC

. . .S . .
. . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . .B . .
. . .P . .
. . . . . .

After shift
. . .S . .
. . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . .B . .
. . . . . .
. .P . . .

can charge on the following line
. . .S . .
. . .C . .
. .C . . .
.C . . . .
.C .B . .
.C . . . .
. .P . . .
it's five squares, so you can do it in fullplate, I'm sure the entire thing gets wierd on the diagonal, but I'm not going to go there.

Hussar said:
The problem is, you're allowing the shift first. You cannot shift in the same round that you move. The rules are the same as 3e in this instance.
Nope, shift was made a move instead of it's own thing, but they removed that restriction. (probably because it was a bit fiddly)
 

Remove ads

Top