Sorcerers and Energy Substitution

ThirdWizard said:
That's what I would do. No feat needed. Just don't take fireball. Take electricball.

i third this. with how few feats and spells a sorcerer has, forcing them to take a feat for something that is 80% consmetic is just silly to me.

DC
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's a common house rule (and one that I use) that metamgaic feats do not cause spontaneous casters (sorecerers and bards) to increase their casting time. As it originally and rightly was in 3.0.
 

Aust Diamondew said:
It's a common house rule (and one that I use) that metamgaic feats do not cause spontaneous casters (sorecerers and bards) to increase their casting time. As it originally and rightly was in 3.0.
Actually, what you're talking about is a house rule in either edition:
3.0 SRD said:
Some spellcasters choose spells as they cast them. They can choose when they cast their spells whether to use metamagic feats to improve them. As with other spellcasters, the improved spell uses up a higher-level spell slot. If its normal casting time is 1 action, casting a metamagic spell is a full-round action for a spellcaster that chooses spells as they cast them. For spells with a longer casting time, it takes an extra full-round action to cast the spell.
 

AFAIK, widely accepted interpretation of the written rule is that when sorcerer type casters cast metamagic version of a spell which has "1 action", that act becomes a full-round action, but that is different from casting a spell with casting time of "1 round".

When you cast a spell with casting time of "1 round", the spell takes effect just before your next turn. And until that, you are "casting" that spell. Thus, any damaged taken during that period forces you to roll a Concentration check.

On the other hand, if you cast a metamagic version of "1 action" spell, it is just a full-round action. You can only take a 5-foot step and some free actions (or one swift or immediate action). But the spell takes effect on your initial turn.
 

Shin Okada said:
AFAIK, widely accepted interpretation of the written rule is that when sorcerer type casters cast metamagic version of a spell which has "1 action", that act becomes a full-round action, but that is different from casting a spell with casting time of "1 round".

When you cast a spell with casting time of "1 round", the spell takes effect just before your next turn. And until that, you are "casting" that spell. Thus, any damaged taken during that period forces you to roll a Concentration check.

On the other hand, if you cast a metamagic version of "1 action" spell, it is just a full-round action. You can only take a 5-foot step and some free actions (or one swift or immediate action). But the spell takes effect on your initial turn.
This is a point that came up when playing my metamagic-heavy sorcerer in Lela's game. I had to explain to him a number of times that the spell was a full-round action, not a 1-round spell. Saved a good number of lost spells that way, though, since this was before my Concentration got up to a +28. :]
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top