Space and AOO's

Zandel

First Post
Just a thought but when a creature of large or larger size moves do you consider only one 5' square as unthreatened for the first 5' or do you consider it's entire space unthreatened?

And before you scoff if you have any logical progressive thought you'll know where this is going.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Zandel said:
Just a thought but when a creature of large or larger size moves do you consider only one 5' square as unthreatened for the first 5' or do you consider it's entire space unthreatened?

And before you scoff if you have any logical progressive thought you'll know where this is going.
I am not sure I understand the question. What I think you are asking... if a creature that takes up a 10x10 area takes a 5' step, are all four 'squares' of the creature 'safe' from AoO.

If that is the question, the answer is yes.
 

I'm not talking about the 5' step i'm talking about the first 5' in a move. There is a rule somewhere that says that when you move the first square you leave is considered not threatened.
 

Zandel said:
I'm not talking about the 5' step i'm talking about the first 5' in a move. There is a rule somewhere that says that when you move the first square you leave is considered not threatened.
That would be the Withdrawl action, not a normal move.
 


I can't find the withdrawal action in the SRD can someone post it? Are you saying that they changed that in 3.5 as well?
 

3.5:
Withdraw
Withdrawing from melee combat is a full-round action. When you withdraw, you can move up to double your speed. The square you start out in is not considered threatened by any opponent you can see, and therefore visible enemies do not get attacks of opportunity against you when you move from that square. (Invisible enemies still get attacks of opportunity against you, and you can’t withdraw from combat if you’re blinded.) You can’t take a 5-foot step during the same round in which you withdraw.

If, during the process of withdrawing, you move out of a threatened square (other than the one you started in), enemies get attacks of opportunity as normal.

You may not withdraw using a form of movement for which you don’t have a listed speed.

Note that despite the name of this action, you don’t actually have to leave combat entirely.

Restricted Withdraw: If you are limited to taking only a standard action each round you can withdraw as a standard action. In this case, you may move up to your speed (rather than up to double your speed).
 

Thanks hyp. My follow on question is still valid. If withdrawing and your large or larger and you have an enemy next to you. Does your full space count as safe untill you've fully moved out of it or just untill you move 5'?
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top