Spell-like abilities and Item Creation feats

jabberwocky

First Post
A creature that has spell-like abilities has a caster level of x. Does this mean that they can qualify for the various item creation feats, even if they are not spellcasters? For example, could a half-fiend fighter take craft magic arms and armor once he gets past 5th level (since his caster level equals his HD)?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I have thought of this, and I think it is possible. The item creation feats simply require a caster level and the ability to cast the prerequisite spell once per day. Perhaps rules as written a spell-like ability does not count because it is not strictly speaking a spell. However, it's hard to understand why a spell-like ability couldn't charge a wand, for example.

My understanding of the theory of item creation is that the item requires the magic of a spell's effect, not the components of the spell. The exception would be the Scribe Scroll feat, which is explicitly a transcription of a spell's components. Since spell-like abilities have no components, they could not be used to scribe a magic scroll. Of course, D&D has no unifying theory underlying its magic system, so it's likely that WotC would officially say "no" to your proposal if asked.

Creatures with spell-like abilities are inherently magical, so it seems reasonable that one could enchant a weapon with an enhancement bonus by taking Craft Magic Arms & Armor and expending experience.

My feeling is that sorcerers should have spell-like abilities rather than spellcasting ability. (The difference may seem like semantics, but it is significant.) If you used such a system, sorcerers should still be able to craft magic items.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top