Spell Swap Questions

Kirowan

First Post
Alright, I was reading about the Bard's ability to swap out spells. I thought the procedure was fairly obvious until I read the last line.

"A bard may swap only a single spell at any given level and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that he gains new spells known for the level."

Now, does the first part of that statement mean any give bard level or spell level?

I don't know what the second part of the statement is talking about at all. I must be especially dense tonight.

Nick
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Kirowan said:
"A bard may swap only a single spell at any given level and must choose whether or not to swap the spell at the same time that he gains new spells known for the level."

I would rule that it means every bard level. The second line sounds like jiberish.
 

I believe it is just saying "at the time of leveling you are making two decisions: 1) do you want to swap a spell 2) if you do, which spell."

I.e. the "do it now, at the time of leveling" -- trying to keep people from thinking they can just swap the spell anytime over the course of that level (i.e. while halfway between levels somewhere on an adventure. You could always say since you didn't swap before, you'll swap then. That sentence is to avoid such a scenario.)

(too sleepy to make this post very coherent, I hope the jist of what I'm trying to say is present though :D )
 

I believe for Bards its: At 4th level and every other level thereafter (6th, 8th, etc) the Bard may switch out 1 lower level spell (at least 2 levels lower than highest spell level).

The original wording posted for this thread simply is clarifying that the Bard can't switch out the sepll at anytime but must in fact do so during leveling up and the selection of new spells.
 


Dash Dannigan said:
I believe for Bards its: At 4th level and every other level thereafter (6th, 8th, etc) the Bard may switch out 1 lower level spell (at least 2 levels lower than highest spell level).
I think it is at levels when a spontaneous caster gets the first spell known of a at least 2nd level. So for sorcerers it is at levels 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 and for bards it is at levels 4, 7, 10, 13, 16.
... Now I wonder if it is at every other level (every third) level instead?
 

Jens said:
I think it is at levels when a spontaneous caster gets the first spell known of a at least 2nd level.
Are you sure it's only when getting the first spell at a level? I thought it was every time you gain any new spell at that level.

By my reading, a Sor could swap out first-level spells any time he gained a new first-level spell. That means once he knows all six spells at that level, he can't swap any more out at later levels.

(I'm not at all sure about this though, since my books were only delivered yesterday...)
 

Remove ads

Top