Spellcaster aware of successful saving throw?


log in or register to remove this ad

The target of a power is always perfectly aware of what the power does and who used it. I would say that works both ways, so a wizard would always know if a spell missed or if the target has saved against it.
 

Most power effects should be obvious that they've ended. I could see allowing a Bluff check to pretend you're still under the effects of some of them (like Sleep).
 

Most power effects should be obvious that they've ended. I could see allowing a Bluff check to pretend you're still under the effects of some of them (like Sleep).
So then your response is that you do not believe the spellcaster is automatically aware if a target of one of their spells successfully saves vs. a spell they have cast.
 

So then your response is that you do not believe the spellcaster is automatically aware if a target of one of their spells successfully saves vs. a spell they have cast.

By that, do you mean like a spider-sense?

IE, my wizard casts a sleep spell on a group of goblins and then moves on deeper into the dungeon, the moment one of the goblins wake up, would my wizard be aware?
 


Well, you would certainly be aware if the DM told you so. Or if the monster clearly shook off the effect of the spell within your line of sight. Otherwise, I'm not sure of anything in the books that talks about awareness of effects other than the obvious - passing out, being blind, etc. Is there something that says monsters/casters are aware of the effects of a spell? If so, what does it say about this issue?
 

Page 57. Whenever you affect a creature with a power the creature knows what you've done to it and what conditions you have imposed.

Of course, that is the general rule, to be broken by individual powers. Otherwise illusion spells wouldn't work, for example.
 

By that, do you mean like a spider-sense?

IE, my wizard casts a sleep spell on a group of goblins and then moves on deeper into the dungeon, the moment one of the goblins wake up, would my wizard be aware?

It'd be a safe assumption seeing as the spell effect would end after the encounter's over.... if the goblin didn't save by then.
 

According to the DMG, the DM is supposed to inform the players whenever an enemy is affected by a condition, explaining that it's important that players are aware of what conditions their target has.

By extension, I infer that they should be also be told when a target recovers from a condition.
 

Remove ads

Top