Spells: Looking for a particular wording...

Mistah J

First Post
Hey all,


I know I have seen, in the wide world of source books, certain spells that state something to the effect of "if this spell is cast on you, and someone casts it again before the duration is up, it doesn't stack but the duration is reset."

Anyone, by chance, know of such a spell I could look up? Provided you understand what I mean of course.. I'm hoping I've been clear enough

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I am not sure what you mean by resetting the duration. Isn't that normally already covered by the core rules? Say my fighter is already under the benefit of a bull's strength spell (1 minute remaining), and the wizard casts another on him (with a duration of 3 minutes), they won't stack (both being enhancement bonuses), but he now has 2 such spells on him, which effectively means that its duration has been extended from 1 minute to 3 minutes (because he still has a 2nd bull's strength spell to fall back on when the 1st expires).

Even if there are such custom spells, I certainly don't see the point of said provision.
 

Yeah, you are probably thinking about the stacking rules in general, since ALL spells work that way.

If you have, say, Mage Armour active, and after a few hours (spell still up) cast it again, the two spells overlap, but do not stack, however, the result is, that the second spell will still have its full duration, so basically the duration will "reset" then.

Bye
Thanee
 


Are you trying for something funky with two different casters casting the same spell on someone?

No, it had more to do with spells that had a choice of effects when cast. Take the "crown" spells from the PHB II; the ones that give a benefit for hours but can be ended in a "supernova" early to gain a higher bonus.

One gives a +1 AC and Saves for hours per level, but can be ended to give +4 to each for one round, for example.

I was trying to find out if it would be possible for a caster to cast that spell twice so that he could get the "nova benefit" and still have the other spell active afterwards.

Though, I suppose casting the same spell twice might be enough of a cost for such a trick to work.

At any rate, it was the general stacking rules I was thinking of,

Thanks
 


Remove ads

Top