Spoiled charging actions - what then?

mstanton

First Post
If a character does a charge attack as a standard action and gets interrupted along the way such that the charging distance is cut short -- say, a fighter with combat superiority lands an opportunity attack, or difficult terrain pops up from an immediate interrupt power -- then would you rule the charging character may declare the "charge" attempt was instead now just a Move action and the PC can take an available standard action (like attacking something else within reach)? Or would you rule the standard action was made and the PC could only finish up with Move and/or Minor actions that turn?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would rule that, unless they have an action point they're willing to spend, their charge was interrupted and their turn is over.
 

As Mort_Q, I'd rule the charge was interrupted and their turn is over. You do not get a move and a minor after a charge - although it's a standard action, it also ends your turn unless you spend an action point. If I were feeling generous (PC charging) or mean (monster charging), I might rule that if they have ended in a legal space for the charge action, they could redirect the target of the charge, e.g. attack the fighter that stopped movement, but that's house rule territory.
 

As above, you spent your action. You can't change your action after you found out it didn't work! One other little clarification that some people used to 3.5 will overlook, difficult terrain does not cut short a charge. It simply costs extra movement, but you can still charge over it (unlike previously). Obviously, if the extra movement makes you stop earlier (which was probably your point), then yes, you lose your action.
 


Remove ads

Top