Spring Attack and special attacks.

Egres

First Post
From the SRD:

SPRING ATTACK [GENERAL]
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Dodge, Mobility, base attack bonus +4.
Benefit: When using the attack action with a melee weapon, you can move both before and after the attack, provided that your total distance moved is not greater than your speed. Moving in this way does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the defender you attack, though it might provoke attacks of opportunity from other creatures, if appropriate. You can’t use this feat if you are wearing heavy armor.
You must move at least 5 feet both before and after you make your attack in order to utilize the benefits of Spring Attack.
Special: A fighter may select Spring Attack as one of his fighter bonus feats.


I was debating with a friend about this feat: do you think it can be used to make special attacks, just like Trip, Disarm and Sunder (FAQ version) attacks?

I know , this question could sound weird, but my friend thinks that the feat creator decided to specify the "melee weapon" part in order to limit its use to attacks made to damage your opponent, or, in other words, with no special attacks.

He thinks that the creator should had wrote "melee attacks" instead of "attacks with melee weapon", in order to allow special attacks.

What do you think about it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Egres said:
I was debating with a friend about this feat: do you think it can be used to make special attacks, just like Trip, Disarm and Sunder (FAQ version) attacks?

I'll ignore the Sunder part, and address Trip and Disarm.

If I take the Attack action, and use my longsword to disarm, I am using the Attack action with a melee weapon.

If I take the Attack action, and use my flail to trip, I am using the Attack action with a melee weapon.

It could be argued that a Trip made as an unarmed melee attack is not 'with a melee weapon', but an unarmed Disarm is performed with an unarmed strike, so even that would qualify.

-Hyp.
 

I assume that he was using the generic term melee weapon as distinct from missile weapon and didn't consider the fine-toothed comb which would come to be used upon his grammar :)
 



Hypersmurf said:
Though only if he's already holding the charge.

Yes, absolutely. I was only thinking about the touch only.

However, thinking about it a second time, it wouldn't even be that terrible to allow it with the special cast+move+touch option, so that it would work like cast+halfmove+touch+halfmove. I know it's not possible because within that option the touch attack is not an "attack action", but still I think it's not too good, especially considering the requisites (Dodge+Mobility+Spring Attack, BAB+4).
 

Li Shenron said:
I know it's not possible because within that option the touch attack is not an "attack action"...

Right :) I wasn't taking hypothetical house rules into account with my comment :)

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top