Spring attack: basic rules question

Correct me if I'm wrong, but when you Spring Attack, that's an attack action. So a normal fighter could move 15 ft., attack, then move 15 ft. as a single standard action. He'd still have another move action for the round, correct?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RangerWickett said:
Correct me if I'm wrong, but when you Spring Attack, that's an attack action. So a normal fighter could move 15 ft., attack, then move 15 ft. as a single standard action. He'd still have another move action for the round, correct?

Well, probably not.

In 3E, Spring Attack required the Attack action - a Standard action. A Standard action included moving your speed.

In 3.5, Spring Attack requires the Attack action - a Standard action. This is now separate from movement, which requires a Move action. It's likely that the text of the feat was simply not updated to take this into account - the way the feat is used seems to assume that moving your speed as part of a Spring Attack costs a Move action, in addition to the Attack action you use to make the attack.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
...and then you'd hang until your next round, when you'd have to spend a move action to complete the remaining 20 feet of the jump.

I hope you are not serious with this one... ;)

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
I hope you are not serious with this one... ;)

Action: None. A Jump check is included in your movement, so it is part of a move action. If you run out of movement mid-jump, your next action (either on this turn or, if necessary, on your next turn) must be a move action to complete the jump.

-Hyp.
 

Oh...

So, if you can jump high enough to get out of reach, you could hang in mid-air to avoid being attacked in melee each round between your actions? :p

This certainly does seem rather silly with the abstract combat system...

Bye
Thanee
 


From the 3E Main FAQ:

The description of the Jump skill says that any distance
you jump counts against your movement for the turn. What
happens if my character jumps farther than her speed
allows or faster than the character can move in a turn?

Suppose I have a speed of 40 and I activate a magic item (a
standard action), then make the required 20-foot run for a
running broad jump. I can move only another 20 feet this
turn. What if my Jump check indicates a jump of 25 feet or
more?


When you jump farther than you’re allowed to move, you
can just jump a shorter distance, or you can just finish your turn
in midair and finish your jump on the next turn. There’s no rule
that says your jumping distance is limited by your speed. There
is a rule that says any jump counts against your move for the
turn. (In this case, you’re using your Jump check to determine
how much distance you can cover in a single jump, and then
spending as much movement as necessary to complete the
jump.)

If you finish a turn in midair, your next action must be a
move action to finish or continue the jump. Note that you make
only one check for the jump.


-Hyp.
 




Remove ads

Top