Spring Attack Confusion

Hypersmurf said:
The prohibition is not on ending your turn in an occupied square; it is on ending your movement in an occupied square.

-Hyp.

I was about to point that out - since the PHB example used being stopped through stunning or similar effect.

/em thanks the smurf
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Woah, thank you people.

i was already afraid, this thread had gone to sleep ;)
what i'm still not quite sure of (and what decides the whole matter) is whether you really move, then stop to attack and then move again. of course, that won't work in my example where you attack from a square occupied by an ally since you would end your movement in order to attack and then move again. No question on that.
is that how spring attack works? i mean this would effectively imply that you get two "half"-move actions (each taken separately, incurring separate AoOs for movement) and a standard-action.

or

do you perform a move action and at some point (with your movement not yet finished) make an attack, meaning not "ending" your movement in the square you attack from, still being "in transit"?
IMHO this would imply, you can freely make an attack from a square which you can legally enter. e.g. you push past a friend (he's d'accord with that), stick out your knife at the foe and rush on through other squares occupied by allies in order to get to a square where you may end your movement legally.

about "smacking the DM": since Chu Li is somewhat...polyphrenic...(master and player, but not in one person)...that would mean Chu Li bashing...himself up :p

Chu Li
 
Last edited:

I don't think the rules are clear on this question. As I said, I would interpret it as two different moves (meaning you can't attack from an occupied square) but I could see it either way. GM call, as always. :)
 


If you attempt to overrun an ally, and they avoid you, you can move into their square, squeeze, make your attack, and get shunted back. You can still attack, because the rules for squeezing say you can't attack if the area you're squeezing into is less than half your space, and 2 medium creatures sharing 1 5ft square is exactly half, not less than.
 

Hypersmurf said:
With a Charge, you can move twice your speed and make a single melee attack.

Without a Charge, if you want to move and also attack, you'll probably be taking a Move action (up to your speed), and an Attack action (a single attack in most cases).

Spring Attack uses both an Attack action and a Move action (once the reprinted feat in Special Edition or later PHBs is taken into account), so the limit on movement in total is your speed, not twice your speed.

-Hyp.


Hey this is kind of a old thread but…. Was wondering.

If you charge, you can charge double your base movement, then attack. But what if you have spring attack as well?

Say you’re a 5 level barb and end up charging 15 feet to hit a guy. You still have 25 feet base movement left. Could you then move with your spring attack up to 25 feet?
 

Bloodhawk said:
Say you’re a 5 level barb and end up charging 15 feet to hit a guy. You still have 25 feet base movement left. Could you then move with your spring attack up to 25 feet?

No, because Spring Attack requires that you take the Attack action, and Charge requires that you take the Charge action. If you're Charging, you're not taking the Attack action, so you can't use Spring Attack.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
No, because Spring Attack requires that you take the Attack action, and Charge requires that you take the Charge action. If you're Charging, you're not taking the Attack action, so you can't use Spring Attack.

-Hyp.

ok, thank you
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top