Enkidu
First Post
Olive said:Actually the rules are very clear, as was mentioned before. Just because some people either don't understand the rules (you don't get XP for monsters, but you do get XP for dfeating the caster/creature who summoned it), or do understand them and don't like them doesn't mean the rules are unclear.
I can't get the SRD open on my work mac, and my books are at home but if you like I'll post a duote and a DMG pg ref later.
It says quite clearly that the balor has the ability to summon another balor, not call another balor. It's a summon monster ability, not a planar ally one. I'm not sure how a flavour text about one balor being beholden to another changes this? The rules provide for summon monster spells to summon specifc creatures.
We know the rules at page 315 of mm3.5 and at page 37 of dm guide
but it's so clear that they couldn't be followed strict cause the examples we add are the prove.
gfunk and jgsugden gives examples in wich they explain correctly how it have no sense consider in a strict way the rules