Summoning, attack, bonus and penalty

DS, its actually not at all as simple as it seems. The problem is RAW is actually contradictory in a fashion that is not easily resolved.

When your summons attacks, YOU are attacking 'through' it. Now, we are supposed to use the 'non temporary' to-hit bonuses, but actually almost everything is situational, in fact EVERYTHING except ability score bonus, level bonus, and any inherent bonuses that might ALWAYS apply.

That 'everything' however, is still... not a lot of bonus.

The point being the attack bonuses have to be established by what the character COMMONLY applies to most of its attacks. Unfortunately this isn't clear. Lets look at implements. When I summon my summons I might use a Tome. After that I may well switch to using a wand. I might then make an attack through the summons. Now, since its MY attack the rules state that I calculate a to-hit bonus. Well, I've already done that, but its not any longer applicable. The bonuses I added weren't temporary but virtually ALL bonuses ARE situational.

You are correct... and incorrect.

Observe.

Yes, the summoning keyword goes 'No, your implement bonus does not count.' This becomes the general rule and template.

However...

Let's look at this excerpt of a typical summon... Summon Angel of Victory, Invoker level 29,

Daily - Divine, Implement, Summoning

This -specific- summoning power has the implement keyword, which means that in its specific case, you DO apply the implement keyword's rules.

When you used the power, you used a tome, let's say it's a tome +5. That means for all attack bonuses the power uses, you can apply +5. Summoning doesn't let you apply the +5 you have at that time, but the Implement keyword allows you to apply the tome's +5. If it did not work this way, it would add your total you have at the time, and then the +5 for the implement keyword, which might make people think it stacked. Fortunately this is not a problem.

EDIT: That might be confusing. Here's an example.

Let's say you have a +7 to hit, not counting your +5 tome, for a total of +12. If you did not forbid temporary bonuses, then you'd use the bonus +12 for the power (it uses attack bonuses and defenses equal to yours). The Implement keyword would then allow you to add the +5 bonus for the tome... for a total attack bonus of +17!?! This is clearly not intended. Instead, it gains the +7, and then the implement keyword kicks in and adds the +5 for the tome you used with the power.

Then, you switch to your wand +6. The summoning, however, does not apply the wand's +6. Remember? Temporary bonus. BUT... the implement keyword STILL adds the tome's +5. Because that is the value of the implement you used the power with.

The Summoning keyword does not make the Implement keyword stop working... but changing implements after the power is used doesn't mean you get to use it with the new implement.

There has been a huge amount of discussion around this. As I said before, the sense of the rule is that the summons is 'attacking' and the power of your summons is dependent on what sort of enhancements etc you had when you summoned it. Certain oddities result though. For instance suppose I use a +6 sword as an implement to summon my summons, now I switch to a +1 Flaming Sword and make an attack through it. Hmmm, nice, I now have a +6 bonus effectively from the +6 implement I used, but I can use the power of my Flaming Sword implement to make the attack a fire attack. You can pull off some rather strange stuff this way.

Power (At-Will ✦ Fire): Free Action. All damage dealt by this weapon is fire damage. Another free action returns the damage to normal.

At no point are you using that +1 flaming sword as an implement with the power. You've already used the +6 sword as the implement, which means at no point can the new sword be dealing damage through that power.

The implement keyword says:

If you wield a magic implement, you can add its enhancement bonus to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of implement powers you use through it (Chapter 3 contains various magic implements, as does Chapter 7 in the Player’s Handbook).

At no point did you use the summoning power through the flaming sword, so therefore at no point can you claim you are dealing damage with that sword, and therefore at no point can you change the damage of that power to fire damage, or add fire to its keywords.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, what is "temporary bonuses or penalties to your statistics" and what is not? I cannot find any definition what kind of bonuses and penalties are considered to be "temporal".

A temporary one is one with a specified duration, such as "until the end of your next turn" or "until the end of the encounter" or "on your next attack roll" or "when you take an extended rest."

Is this bonus considered to be "temporal"?

No. It does not have a duration, and therefore is not temporary.

And another question. When the summoner is "weakened", will the summoned creature also inflicts half damage? Or not?

I'd say no, because that's a temporary penalty to your statistics.
 

That 'everything' however, is still... not a lot of bonus.



You are correct... and incorrect.

Observe.

Yes, the summoning keyword goes 'No, your implement bonus does not count.' This becomes the general rule and template.

However...

Let's look at this excerpt of a typical summon... Summon Angel of Victory, Invoker level 29,

Daily - Divine, Implement, Summoning

This -specific- summoning power has the implement keyword, which means that in its specific case, you DO apply the implement keyword's rules.

When you used the power, you used a tome, let's say it's a tome +5. That means for all attack bonuses the power uses, you can apply +5. Summoning doesn't let you apply the +5 you have at that time, but the Implement keyword allows you to apply the tome's +5. If it did not work this way, it would add your total you have at the time, and then the +5 for the implement keyword, which might make people think it stacked. Fortunately this is not a problem.

EDIT: That might be confusing. Here's an example.

Let's say you have a +7 to hit, not counting your +5 tome, for a total of +12. If you did not forbid temporary bonuses, then you'd use the bonus +12 for the power (it uses attack bonuses and defenses equal to yours). The Implement keyword would then allow you to add the +5 bonus for the tome... for a total attack bonus of +17!?! This is clearly not intended. Instead, it gains the +7, and then the implement keyword kicks in and adds the +5 for the tome you used with the power.

Then, you switch to your wand +6. The summoning, however, does not apply the wand's +6. Remember? Temporary bonus. BUT... the implement keyword STILL adds the tome's +5. Because that is the value of the implement you used the power with.

The Summoning keyword does not make the Implement keyword stop working... but changing implements after the power is used doesn't mean you get to use it with the new implement.



Power (At-Will ✦ Fire): Free Action. All damage dealt by this weapon is fire damage. Another free action returns the damage to normal.

At no point are you using that +1 flaming sword as an implement with the power. You've already used the +6 sword as the implement, which means at no point can the new sword be dealing damage through that power.

The implement keyword says:

If you wield a magic implement, you can add its enhancement bonus to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of implement powers you use through it (Chapter 3 contains various magic implements, as does Chapter 7 in the Player’s Handbook).

At no point did you use the summoning power through the flaming sword, so therefore at no point can you claim you are dealing damage with that sword, and therefore at no point can you change the damage of that power to fire damage, or add fire to its keywords.

Honestly I think this whole argument is riddled with errors and suppositions. Lets analyze a particular summoning power and we'll see where the gray areas actually are. I'll pick Summon Fire Warrior, a fairly straightforward summoning.

The PC summons the Fire Warrior. At this moment in time the rules tell the player to do the following things:

Calculate defenses: these are equal to yours not counting temporary bonuses and penalties. This is pretty clear, anything that normally applies to you applies to the summons, so basically you take the numbers off your sheet and apply them to the fire warrior. Situational stuff and buffs with a duration simply don't count.

Hit points etc: no real controversy here, this stuff is spelled out.

Now, that's it. The Summon Fire Warrior power has the Implement keyword, but nothing indicates this really means much at this point. Neither the power nor the summoning rules mentions any effect that the Implement has at this point.

In the next round the PC decides to attack with his fire warrior. It has an attack which is melee 1, Int vs Ref, etc. Note that it has no keywords, nor is it described as a power. The general summoning rules simply note that "If a summoning power allows the summoned creature to attack, you make an attack through the creature, as specified in the power description. If the summoned creature can make a skill check or an ability check, you make the check. Attacks and checks you make through the creature do not include temporary bonuses or penalties to your statistics."

The question that inevitably arises here is in regard to implements. The standard interpretation is that the attack has the keywords of the summoning power, which means it has the Implement keyword. Now, some people have interpreted this to mean that the attack gets the benefits of the implement in use when the power was first used, and others that it gets the benefits of the implement the caster is wielding at the time of the attack (remember, the attack is made BY the caster). "temporary bonuses and penalties" however don't apply.

Now the simplest interpretation of temporary in this context is something with a duration or relating to some state of the caster or situational to the caster. One can easily argue that what implement is being wielded falls into this category (I don't agree with that personally, but it can be legitimately argued) just like the fact that the caster might happen to be standing in the zone of Sanctified Ground is situational and not a permanent fact of the caster.

The point is there are at least two points that are open to dispute here, which implement bonus applies and does one apply at all?

As for the Flaming Sword, it would absolutely work. It's being used as an implement and the attack has the implement keyword. The wielder of the sword is making the attack. Thus the attack is eligible to have its attack type changed to fire. (obviously if its a fire warrior its redundant, but whatever).

Now, all these issues have been debated and hashed out and a rough consensus seems to exist at the Q&A board that the implement the caster has in hand when making the attack counts. Which one was in hand when the power was used is simply irrelevant because there's simply nothing for it to enhance. This is still disputed however and not established incontrovertibly AFAIK (its possible there's a newer FAQ entry on it by now, I haven't reviewed them in a while).
 

Now, that's it. The Summon Fire Warrior power has the Implement keyword, but nothing indicates this really means much at this point. Neither the power nor the summoning rules mentions any effect that the Implement has at this point.

It means that you can use the enhancement bonuse of the power with attack rolls and damage rolls with the power you use through that implement. That's what the keyword allows you to do. At this point, you have used the power through that implement. It's bonus is extremely meaningful.

In the next round the PC decides to attack with his fire warrior. It has an attack which is melee 1, Int vs Ref, etc. Note that it has no keywords, nor is it described as a power. The general summoning rules simply note that "If a summoning power allows the summoned creature to attack, you make an attack through the creature, as specified in the power description. If the summoned creature can make a skill check or an ability check, you make the check. Attacks and checks you make through the creature do not include temporary bonuses or penalties to your statistics."

Not arguing that point.

The question that inevitably arises here is in regard to implements. The standard interpretation is that the attack has the keywords of the summoning power, which means it has the Implement keyword. Now, some people have interpreted this to mean that the attack gets the benefits of the implement in use when the power was first used, and others that it gets the benefits of the implement the caster is wielding at the time of the attack (remember, the attack is made BY the caster). "temporary bonuses and penalties" however don't apply.

Here's the thing, Implements ONLY grant their bonuses to powers used through that implement. The ONLY power with the implement keyword involved here is the original one, the subpowers do not. Which means that the only power used through the implement is the original power.

At that point, the implement is locked in, so to speak.

Now the simplest interpretation of temporary in this context is something with a duration or relating to some state of the caster or situational to the caster. One can easily argue that what implement is being wielded falls into this category (I don't agree with that personally, but it can be legitimately argued) just like the fact that the caster might happen to be standing in the zone of Sanctified Ground is situational and not a permanent fact of the caster.

Implement keyword is actually pretty specific. Power used through it. Not attacks made by it. It only cares about the initial use of power to determine stats. After that, any attacks made by that power are determined by that initial stat, because that's the only time a power was used through it.

Flaming Sphere works the same way, because the only time you used a power through the implement is at the beginning.

Using a power refers only to the powers initial activation, not subsequent actions which follow different rules.

The point is there are at least two points that are open to dispute here, which implement bonus applies and does one apply at all?

Only those implement bonuses that were present when the power was used apply. Subsequent rounds do not use subsequent bonuses.

As for the Flaming Sword, it would absolutely work. It's being used as an implement and the attack has the implement keyword.

Irrelevant. You are not using a power through the implement, and therefore nothing about the implement applies. Also, there are no summonings that have powers that you use.

What summonings have are called 'commands' and while those commands are certainly attacks, they are not considered powers, and are certainly not considered powers of the respective keyword. They ARE effects of the respective keyword, but the Implement keyword does not trigger by -effects- of that keyword, but by 'using a power through an implement.'

At no point after the initial activation are you using any power through that new implement.

The wielder of the sword is making the attack. Thus the attack is eligible to have its attack type changed to fire. (obviously if its a fire warrior its redundant, but whatever).

Correct, the wielder of the sword is making the attack. But there is no single point in this sequence where he is making an attack through the sword. The sword is not channeling anything.

This, however, does mean that if he -summoned- the summoning with a flaming sword, and then pulled out some other implement... yes, he could still deal fire damage through what he did... so long as he activated the free action before changing implements.

Now, all these issues have been debated and hashed out and a rough consensus seems to exist at the Q&A board that the implement the caster has in hand when making the attack counts.

What is interesting after this is that there is no power that happens after the summoning for the new implement to enhance.

Which one was in hand when the power was used is simply irrelevant because there's simply nothing for it to enhance.

Except for -every- attack and damage roll made by that power. You claim there is nothing, and then you claim you can switch implements to affect the something that is there.

That is a contradiction.

This is still disputed however and not established incontrovertibly AFAIK (its possible there's a newer FAQ entry on it by now, I haven't reviewed them in a while).

Until you can show a summoning power that has a power, not merely a command, then I have no idea which sort of power you're talking about. No summoning I've seen has powers, only commands. Perhaps if I saw the one you were talking about, it'd be easier to discuss.

Fire Warriors, by the way, have commands, not powers.
 

@DS, that's your theory. Not everyone agrees with you, to say the least. It is ONE interpretation. Its not the only one. As I said, its not nearly as clear-cut as you seem to think.
 

@DS, that's your theory. Not everyone agrees with you, to say the least. It is ONE interpretation. Its not the only one. As I said, its not nearly as clear-cut as you seem to think.

It's also rules as they are written, and involves the least amount of creating 'rules' to fit the situation.

Implements only give their bonuses if they are the device the power was used through. Subsequant attacks with that power are not the same as using the power through that implement. Using a Power is a specific thing, the original action of activating that power.

Flaming Sphere, for example, has subsequant attacks as part of the power, however there is only one moment where you use the power. That is the only thing the implement keyword refers to... once that power is used, the bonus you can apply is locked in, and you need an explicit exception or contradiction in order to change it.

If you can give an example of the implement keyword's text refering to any other type of situation where the bonus applies, I'm all ears... however that text does not exist in the PHB, PHB2, or PHB3.
 

It's also rules as they are written, and involves the least amount of creating 'rules' to fit the situation.

Implements only give their bonuses if they are the device the power was used through. Subsequant attacks with that power are not the same as using the power through that implement. Using a Power is a specific thing, the original action of activating that power.

Flaming Sphere, for example, has subsequant attacks as part of the power, however there is only one moment where you use the power. That is the only thing the implement keyword refers to... once that power is used, the bonus you can apply is locked in, and you need an explicit exception or contradiction in order to change it.

If you can give an example of the implement keyword's text refering to any other type of situation where the bonus applies, I'm all ears... however that text does not exist in the PHB, PHB2, or PHB3.

Really? And where is the rule that says the other way either? It doesn't exist. In fact no clear rule actually exists that defines use, and while there have been some clarifications on that topic it is still a rather gray area. You can insist until your blue in the face that its one way or the other, but it isn't. Its just something that will have to be decided by the DM.
 

Really? And where is the rule that says the other way either? It doesn't exist. In fact no clear rule actually exists that defines use, and while there have been some clarifications on that topic it is still a rather gray area. You can insist until your blue in the face that its one way or the other, but it isn't. Its just something that will have to be decided by the DM.

So....

...if this were the case, and commanding the summoned monster were using that power... then you'd run into the problem of it's usage word.

Daily.

Usage: The first word on the next line tells you how often you can use the power, that is, whether it is an at-will, an encounter, or a daily power.

There are no at-will summoning powers, which means that if commanding a summon were 'using that power', then you'd be constrained by that usage word in how often you can do so.

So, in the example of the Fire Warriors, you use it to create the Fire Warriors. At that point, you can do nothing more with them, because you've used your once per day allowance of using the Fire Warriors power.

So, 'using a power' cannot refer to anything but the act of first activating the power.

As well, every power has an action cost associated with using it, and it's obvious that further attacks do not use that initial action cost, but rather the action cost stated with that action. A power with Sustain minor, for example, is not being used by sustaining it, or else it would cost a minor and a standard action.

There exists no instance of 'using a power' in the rules outside of the act of activating it, with the exception of ambiguous terms like with enhancements on implements. However, there DO exists numerous instances of 'using a power' where it ONLY can refer to the initial act of activation.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top