D&D 5E (2014) Take the Ready action.

It explicitly says otherwise...

Question: "If you ready the Dash Action, can you then move up to twice you speed in reaction to the trigger?"
Answer: "Dash gives you extra movement. Off your turn, you have no movement. E.g., 0 ft. + 30 ft. = 30 ft., not 60 ft."
Follow-up question: "So do you actually move as part of the dash action? Or does dashing just allow you to move more?"
Answer: "It just lets you move more."
:geek:
I can’t help but notice you left off the last exchange in which the follow up question is:
“So preparing a Dash with Ready is the same to prepare a normal Movement? There is no distinction between them? Odd.”
And Jeremy answers “Correct”

Makes it pretty clear - prepare a Dash and you get movement to spend as your reaction. But then, that’s exactly what his 0+30 feet was saying too. The Dash gives you your 30 of movement (assuming 30 ft was your base speed) even though, off turn, you normally have 0 ft of movement available.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Ready action is not a trap, it's an option to react later. It's generally useful when you cannot perform the action now but rather later when time or circumstances allow it. For exemple;

  • Readying to Hide when a guard leave its post and can't see you anymore.
  • Readying to Help when an ally does something in order to assist.
  • Readying to Search for when someone or something get's in or out of view.
I think these are all valid, they just don't play out very smoothly, or you don't benefit from them they way you might anticipate you would.

@Ruin Explorer You can hide outside combat. You roll initiative only in combat. Why you think Readying to Help is almost never valid i'm curious?
Would you need to take the Ready action (a combat action) outside of combat, though? That may be the point being made.

I disagree with that and based on sage advice, so does Jeremy crawford.

The "current turn" is the turn in which the action is taken. If you ready dash you take the "ready action" on your turn and take the "dash action" as a reaction on the turn when when the triggering event happens. This means if the trigger event happens on another turn other than your own you get that movement on that other turn because that is the "current" turn when the dash action is taken.

The wording is particular, Dash gives you extra movement equal to your "speed", it does not double your movement as some people think. Your speed is a statistic on your character sheet, it does not change turn to turn unless there is some effect changing it (grappled, haste, bladesong etc).

The example is you quoted is correct. It lets you move your speed on whatever turn the dash action is taken: 0 (movement normally allowed on another turn)+30(additional movement granted from dash)=30 (total movement on that turn). It is also as it states NOT 60 feet, it is only 30 feet.

It is also important to note you have to use your reaction to take the dash action, so you can't combine this with something else like the scout subclass feature that also requires a reaction to get movement.
The reason I disagree is that the rule stipulates "When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement equal to your speed." instead of "When you take the Dash action, you move a distance equal to your speed."

It doesn't appear as though I'm alone in that understanding. I'm open to a clarification that changes my mind!

I can’t help but notice you left off the last exchange in which the follow up question is:
“So preparing a Dash with Ready is the same to prepare a normal Movement? There is no distinction between them? Odd.”
And Jeremy answers “Correct”

Makes it pretty clear - prepare a Dash and you get movement to spend as your reaction. But then, that’s exactly what his 0+30 feet was saying too. The Dash gives you your 30 of movement (assuming 30 ft was your base speed) even though, off turn, you normally have 0 ft of movement available.
You can't help but notice? You make it sound as though I'm trying to trick you (which I'm not).
:confused:

EDIT: Found some more relevant Sage Advice to consider.

Question: "So how does that work? Each dash is a move action or is it just you may move again?"
Answer: "On your turn, you can move. Dash increases how far you can move on a particular turn."
Place that in context with...
Question: "If you ready the Dash Action, can you then move up to twice you speed in reaction to the trigger?"
Answer: "Dash gives you extra movement. Off your turn, you have no movement. E.g., 0 ft. + 30 ft. = 30 ft., not 60 ft."

That leads me to the conclusion that if you take the Ready action to Dash, nothing happens when you take your reaction because your reaction takes place on another combatant's turn.
 
Last edited:


My take on the RAW is that readying a Dash doesn't let a character move outside their turn, but it's not as if it matters any if we play it that way, it would just be the exact equivalent of readying to move. Even if I was a DM playing straight RAW I'd ask any player readying Dash if they actually meant to ready to move.

Now, where it could matter is if a character had some kind of special ability that triggers by taking the Dash action, but I can't think of any.
 

The reason I disagree is that the rule stipulates "When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement equal to your speed." instead of "When you take the Dash action, you move a distance equal to your speed."

It doesn't appear as though I'm alone in that understanding. I'm open to a clarification that changes my mind!


You can't help but notice? You make it sound as though I'm trying to trick you (which I'm not).
:confused:

EDIT: Found some more relevant Sage Advice to consider.

Question: "So how does that work? Each dash is a move action or is it just you may move again?"
Answer: "On your turn, you can move. Dash increases how far you can move on a particular turn."
Place that in context with...
Question: "If you ready the Dash Action, can you then move up to twice you speed in reaction to the trigger?"
Answer: "Dash gives you extra movement. Off your turn, you have no movement. E.g., 0 ft. + 30 ft. = 30 ft., not 60 ft."

That leads me to the conclusion that if you take the Ready action to Dash, nothing happens when you take your reaction because your reaction takes place on another combatant's turn.

You have text of the rule right - you gain extra movement in the current turn, not that you gain extra speed or your speed changes.

For example there are you and two other creatures. If you readied the dash action and the triggering event happened outside/after your turn. here is the sequence of events:

1. your turn: You take whatever movement (up to your normal speed) and bonus action that apply. As your action you take the ready action and specifiy that you will take the dash action as a reaction based on a triggering event. At this point you have not taken the dash action yet and you may never take it depeinding on how things progress. If you moved 20 earlier, your movement right now is 10 and you forfeit that when you end the turn.
2. Your turn ends.
3. Creature 1 turn: It is now someone else's turn, at the start of his turn your speed is 30, your movement is 0 because it is someone else's turn.
4. Creature 1 turn: The trigger event happens, you can choose to use your reaction (on this turn) to "dash action" or you can choose not to. If you choose not to use your reaction now and the trigger event happens again you can use it at that time, or you can use your reaction for a normal reaction later. But you can only use your reaction once. You choose to use your reaction to "dash action" right now.
5. Creature 1 turn: Dash action increases your movement by your speed on the "current turn" when it is taken. Your movement increases from 0 to 30 THIS turn (0+30=30).
6. Creature 1 turn: You can move up to 30 feet. You choose to move 20 feet. Your movement is now 10 feet.
7. Creature 1 turn ends
8. Creature 2 turn: Your movement is now 0 again because it is no longer the "current turn" when the dash action was taken and you do not get any normal movement on another creatures turn. You have also used your reaction.
9. Creature 2 turn ends
10. Your turn: Your movement is 30, you can take an action a bonus action and move this turn.

It is actually in the equation that you have quoted above. 0+30=30 --> 0 (normal movement on someone else's turn) +30 (dash as ready action on someone eles's turn) = 30

If he could not move, the equation would not be there , his movement would equal 0 not 30.

One additional thing to note - this uses your reaction, so if you have something else that allows movement on another turn as areaction (example scout skirmisher ability) you can't add these. You would need to use your reaction for one or the other.
 
Last edited:

It absolutely is a trap because it isn't explained properly.

This is particularly bad because it's completely different to the functionality of previous editions, and a lot of the functions require multiple levels of extrapolation to work out. I mean, let's be real, if you put 20 DMs and players of D&D in a room, odds are, I (or many posters here) would be the person with the best grasp on the 5E rules there. And I and many others didn't work out that the completely unstated intention was that you can only make one attack.

Readying to Help is almost never valid, and the fact that you list it suggests you don't understand what's going on here as much as you think you do.

Readying to Hide doesn't make sense in the situation you've described because Initiative would not have been rolled, so you don't need to use the Ready action.

I'm not even sure what you mean by "Readying to Search", you're going to need to explain that one.

This has been addressed. You don't have to be dancing around to Dodge. If you aren't attacked you can be standing completely still whilst technically "Dodging".

Looking at the 5e Ready action, the 5e designers did something they've done with a few other mechanics from past editions- they (sorry, can't think of a better term) stealth nerfed it.

As in it initially appears to function like it did in prior editions, but upon proper execution, it's different, and generally weaker. So those that played prior editions are the most confused /frustrated.

This is compounded by the fact that it's not explained all that well, you have to really dig in to understand, properly, how it works.

It's too bad really, because once understood as a niche option - the mechanics of it are actually quite good. The 5e designers fixed much of the possible abuse while retaining usefulness.
 

No necessarily, but if you're in combat or event encounter that require actions, it would be a reason why you must wait to do so. Do you agree?
Of course!
:)

I just think that the benefits aren't what they seem to be.
  • If I take the Ready action to Hide when I take my reaction, my location is still known. If the environment changes such that circumstances become appropriate for hiding, I'm still benefiting from being unseen. All I've done is waste my reaction for the round. EDIT: Helpful if you're gaming the initiative order in specific cases, perhaps.
  • If I have enough player knowledge to know that an ally will benefit if I take the Ready action to Help, why wouldn't I just take the Help action? Either way the benefit lasts until the start of my next turn, so all I've done is waste my reaction for the round.
  • Taking the Ready action to Search is the worst trap of all! (This is a joke). We all know you can't find Waldo any quicker if you ready to search when the page is turned! Hehe

You have text of the rule right - you gain extra movement in the current turn, not that you gain extra speed or your speed changes.

For example there are you and two other creatures. If you readied the dash action and the triggering event happened outside/after your turn. here is the sequence of events:

1. your turn: You take whatever movement (up to your normal movement) and bonus action that apply. As your action you take the ready action and specifiy that you will take the dash action as a reaction based on a triggering event. You have not taken the dash action yet and you may never take it.
2. Your turn ends.
3. Creature 1 turn: It is now someone else's turn, at the start of his turn your speed is 30, your movement is 0.
4. Creature 1 turn: The trigger event happens, you can choose to use your reaction (on this turn) to "dash action" or you can choose not to. If you choose not to use your reaction now and the trigger event happens again you can use it at that time, or you can use your reaction for a normal reaction later. But you can only use your reaction once. You choose to use your reaction to "dash action" right now.
5. Creature 1 turn: Dash action increases your movement by your speed on the "current turn" when it is taken. Your movement increases from 0 to 30 THIS turn (0+30=30).
6. Creature 1 turn: You can move up to 30 feet. You choose to move 20 feet. Your movement is now 10 feet.
7. Creature 1 turn ends
8. Creature 2 turn: Your movement is now 0 again because it is no longer the "current turn" when the dash action was taken and you do not get any normal movement on another creatures turn. You have also used your reaction.
9. Creature 2 turn ends
10. Your turn: Your movement is 30, you can take an action a bonus action and move this turn.

It is actually in the equation that you have quoted above. 0+30=30 --> 0 (normal movement on someone else's turn) +30 (dash as ready action on someone eles's turn) = 30

If he could not move, the equation would not be there , his movement would equal 0 not 30.

One additional thing to note - this uses your reaction, so if you have something else that allows movement on another turn as areaction (example scout skirmisher ability) you can't add these. You would need to use your reaction for one or the other.
You don't have movement on someone else's turn, therefore taking the Ready action to Dash doesn't do what you understand it to do.
 
Last edited:

@Ruin Explorer You can hide outside combat. You roll initiative only in combat. Why you think Readying to Help is almost never valid i'm curious?
You don't need to use the Ready action to Hide in response to a guard moving outside of combat. The Ready action only applies once Initiative has been rolled - it's nonsensical otherwise. Readying to Help rarely makes sense because Help lasts. So for example, if you want to help someone in melee, you don't have to Ready for them to attack or w/e, you just help. The only circumstance I can see is if they weren't already next to your (or the like) and you had to wait for them to move next to you.
Devote your attention to finding something.
No.

Explain the mechanics. That's just vague nonsense. Explain what it is you're Ready-ing and what you're going to roll and how it couldn't have happened earlier.
It's too bad really, because once understood as a niche option - the mechanics of it are actually quite good. The 5e designers fixed much of the possible abuse while retaining usefulness.
Exactly. It's not worthless, but it has some very narrow and specific applications that the poorly-worded explanation doesn't really make clear.
 

No.

Explain the mechanics. That's just vague nonsense. Explain what it is you're Ready-ing and what you're going to roll and how it couldn't have happened earlier.
Of course I fell asleep with all this on my mind. LOL The Where's Waldo contest was the only reasonable thing I could come up with, which requires multiple combatants readying to accomplish the same task. "When she flips the page, I try to find Waldo first."

EDIT: You know, perfectly reasonable in the midst of combat.
 


Remove ads

Top