Targeted Dispel and Magic Weapon, etc.

Pickaxe

Explorer
Let's say Dispel Magic is cast as a targeted dispel on a character with various buffs, as well as Magic Weapon (or GMW) on his weapon in hand. Is Magic Weapon dispelled? On the one hand, the target of Magic Weapon is the weapon itself, not the character. On the other hand, the weapon is an "attended item," suggesting that it is affected as the character is, so the dispel would affect the weapon just as the weapon uses the character's saves, etc., while it is held or carried.

Can anyone clarify this issue?

Thanks.

--Axe
 

log in or register to remove this ad

IIRC, there was a sage advice or similar place with the ruling that the spell on the weapon would not be affected by a dispel targeted on the wielder.
 



According to the reading of dispel magic you'd have to target the object (the weapon in this case), as it is the target of the spell, in order to dispel the spell effect.

A targeted dispel on a character would only affect all spells that target the character, a magic weapon spell doesn't target the character, so a weapon that was the target of a spell would remain unaffected.
 

On the other hand, an area dispel would affect one spell on the character, and one spell on the weapon.

So while having the weapon treated as a separate target makes the Magic Weapon spell less vulnerable to targeted dispel (since the caster is likely to target the character, not the sword), it makes it more vulnerable to area dispel.

-Hyp.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top