The Ring of Dragonshape

Einolf

First Post
The Ring of Dragonshape text says

Once per day, the wearer can activate the ring (as a standard action) to polymorph into a young, red dragon (if the wearer is evil) or a young, gold dragon (if the wearer is good). This effect functions as the polymorph spell, except that the duration is 1 hour. The effect can be dismissed by the wearer as a standard action.
Moderate transmutation; CL 7th; Forge Ring, polymorph;
Price 23,000 gp.

My DM's telling me that I should only be able to polymorph into a wyrmling dragon, according to the CL. Thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd have to say that its your DM call, though I think that the text says it all and you should be able to turn into a young dragon.....but he is the master of the game....
 

According to the description of the ring, the DM is wrong. According to the fact that he's running the game, the DM is right :)
 

Ok, well ... based on the item makeup ... what CL do you use for the polymorph power? I read CL 7. CL 7 allowes 7 hit die ...

-the DM, who doesn't want to screw over his player, but does want to follow the rules (and then screw over the player)
 

Young Red and Young Gold dragons both have the same level adjustment (+6).

Even if you were to go by CR instead, and use the Red as a baseline, then he could turn into a Very Young Gold. A Young Red and a Very Young Gold both have the same CR (7).

Frankly, I don't think it matters enough to get upset over. Just use the item as written. So the good guys get a *slight* edge on the item. They're the good guys, whatever. :D

Calypso
 

Rhewtani said:
Ok, well ... based on the item makeup ... what CL do you use for the polymorph power? I read CL 7. CL 7 allowes 7 hit die ...

-the DM, who doesn't want to screw over his player, but does want to follow the rules (and then screw over the player)

While to create the ring requires a caster level of 7, it does not nessecarily follow that the power of the rings comes AT CL7.

Take the Bottle of Air: CL7 but instead of limited to 14 hours, has a continuous air supply.
 

Rhewtani said:
Ok, well ... based on the item makeup ... what CL do you use for the polymorph power? I read CL 7. CL 7 allowes 7 hit die ...

-the DM, who doesn't want to screw over his player, but does want to follow the rules (and then screw over the player)
The CL you use is 7, but it's only relevant for purposes of dispelling and such. It's not relevant for purposes of duration, since the description says it lasts an hour. It's not relevant for purposes of what he can turn into, since the description says he can turn into a young red or gold dragon (depending on alignment).

Simple.
 




Remove ads

Top