Elric said:Looks like a nice character. Extra Finesse really helps the damage output for a finesse fighter.
What do the Unarmored Defense Proficiency feats do? To me, it looks like the three of them add 9 to his armor class.
Unarmored Defense Proficiency – Beginner
Fighters may take this feat as one of their bonus feats.
You receive an AC bonus of your level/3 +3 (round down). This bonus does not stack with armor and is in fact ignored if you are wearing armor, but it does apply even when flat footed or otherwise denied your DEX bonus to AC.
Unarmored Defense Proficiency – Intermediate
Prereq: Unarmored Defense Proficiency – Beginner
Fighters may take this feat as one of their bonus feats.
Your AC bonus for unarmored defense now follows this chart by level: 1= +5, 2-4= +6, 5-6= +7, 7-9= +8, 10-11= +9, 12-14= +10, 15-16= +11, 17-19= +12, 20= +13.
Unarmored Defense Proficiency – Advanced
Prereq: Unarmored Defense Proficiency – Intermediate
Fighters may take this feat as one of their bonus feats.
Your AC bonus for unarmored defense is now your level/2 +7 (round down).
Elric said:Thanks. I like the idea behind those feats, although they look a little too powerful. On the other hand, three feats is a lot and it looks like the bonuses don't stack with force armor.
Darklone said:
IIRC these feats are for low magic settings without your average D&D armourboost items.
Hypersmurf said:
That's a result of a crazy ruling in the S&S FAQ on the interaction of QttE and ET, that shows the person writing it didn't read the feats.
A Feint causes the opponent to lose his Dex bonus against your next attack. Until you attack, they don't lose their Dex bonus. So even with Quicker than the Eye, you can only gain one ET attack per round - MEA to Bluff, Standard Action to attack. When you attack, they lose their Dex bonus against that attack, so ET triggers.
The Song and Silence FAQ suggests that as soon as you successfully use QttE to Bluff, ET triggers and you can make an extra attack. And since you've only used an MEA so far, you can use QttE again... and trigger ET again.
So for some reason, bluffing someone twice allows you to use Expert Tactician more often than if they were Held... if you treat that FAQ ruling as valid.
Personally, I look at where it states within the text of Expert Tactician that you take the extra attack "Either before or after your regular action".
Start of your action - they haven't lost their Dex bonus. If you do something with an MEA that causes them to lose their Dex bonus, you're eligible to take an ET attack after your regular action. "In between one MEA and the next MEA" is not "after your regular action".
By my reading - ET once per round. Only. Ever.
-Hyp.
I remember that thread, and don't really want to repeat it.
Hypersmurf said:
Then I'll leave it there, because the S&S FAQ ruling to me looks as if it were written by someone going from memory as to how they think it might be supposed to maybe work, as opposed to with the text of the feats in from of them.
Sort of like the Divine Might ruling in the Dotf FAQ.
-Hyp.