The Tarrasque

Jack Simth said:
Acid (such as that found in any person's stomach) does full, normal damage to trolls. Any bit you eat doesn't grow back.

I think he was referring to keeping a piece of troll in your backpack to much on that would keep growing back if you left a little bit. :eek:

Now pardon me while I erase that image from my mind.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

On this board a few years ago someone came up with the idea of attacking the tarrasque with a whole mess of stirges. Sure the tarrasque can crush them like ants but stirges have a touch attack that sucks Con and the Tarasque has a pretty low touch AC. Once the tarasque reaches 0 con it's time to move in for the killing blow.

(Not that any sensible DM wouldn't rule 0 this in a heartbeat.)
 

ThirdWizard said:
I think he was referring to keeping a piece of troll in your backpack to much on that would keep growing back if you left a little bit. :eek:

Except that little piece you keep in your backpack will suffocate / starve eventually, so it really doesn't work that well as a continual food source.

Which just goes to show that I've thought about this way too much ... :D
 

Tyrrell said:
On this board a few years ago someone came up with the idea of attacking the tarrasque with a whole mess of stirges. Sure the tarrasque can crush them like ants but stirges have a touch attack that sucks Con and the Tarasque has a pretty low touch AC. Once the tarasque reaches 0 con it's time to move in for the killing blow.

(Not that any sensible DM wouldn't rule 0 this in a heartbeat.)
No need to houserule it because a tarrasque is immune to ability damage. Maybe he wasn't in 3.0, though.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
No need to houserule it because a tarrasque is immune to ability damage. Maybe he wasn't in 3.0, though.

He wasnt' immune to ability damage in 3.0, when I came up with that method of killing him. Nice to see they sealed that particular loophole. :)
 


So you can't CDG a troll to kill them after you've beaten them into submission?

Relevent SRD Entry:
SRD said:
Coup de Grace: As a full-round action, you can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace to a helpless opponent. You can also use a bow or crossbow, provided you are adjacent to the target. You automatically hit and score a critical hit. If the defender survives the damage, he must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + damage dealt) or die. A rogue also gets her extra sneak attack damage against a helpless opponent when delivering a coup de grace.

Delivering a coup de grace provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.
You can’t deliver a coup de grace against a creature that is immune to critical hits. You can deliver a coup de grace against a creature with total concealment, but doing this requires two consecutive full-round actions (one to “find” the creature once you’ve determined what square it’s in, and one to deliver the coup de grace).

The SRD seems to imply that you can... your thoughts?
 

SRD; Monster Types said:
Regeneration (Ex): A creature with this ability is difficult to kill. Damage dealt to the creature is treated as nonlethal damage. The creature automatically heals nonlethal damage at a fixed rate per round, as given in the entry. Certain attack forms, typically fire and acid, deal lethal damage to the creature, which doesn’t go away. The creature’s descriptive text describes the details. A regenerating creature that has been rendered unconscious through nonlethal damage can be killed with a coup de grace. The attack cannot be of a type that automatically converts to nonlethal damage.

Attack forms that don’t deal hit point damage ignore regeneration. Regeneration also does not restore hit points lost from starvation, thirst, or suffocation. Regenerating creatures can regrow lost portions of their bodies and can reattach severed limbs or body parts; details are in the creature’s descriptive text. Severed parts that are not reattached wither and die normally.

A creature must have a Constitution score to have the regeneration ability.

Also see Regeneration under Special Abilities.
(emphasis added)
You can CDG a downed critter - but you need something that would be able to damage it if it were still up and about.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Except that little piece you keep in your backpack will suffocate / starve eventually, so it really doesn't work that well as a continual food source.

Which just goes to show that I've thought about this way too much ... :D

But if you kept a troll chained up in the pantry, you could cut a nice fresh steak off him (mmm...flank steak) and grill that up every meal of the day...maybe with fava beans.
 


Remove ads

Top