Thunder Hammer question

Thunder Hammer is a close burst 3 attack power, with the weapon keyword. It attacks enemies.

So if the cleric in your party has a foe in your close burst 3 contained with some spell that won't let him attack unless he's attacked, can you choose to not target him? I understand its a close burst 3, but since you're swinging a weapon...

Just wondering, thanks!

PS if you go by the flavour text... :)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

This issue comes up with Pacifist Healers as well. My opinion is that you cannot choose to not target unless there is some discretionary language in the power (such as "can" or "any"). Since the targets of Thunder Hammer are "Each enemy in the burst" you must target each enemy in the burst. Of course, at your table, your DM's rulings apply.
 

I've ruled in my game that the caster of a spell can determine who is an ally or enemy at the time of casting. if an area spell targets enemies, the caster can choose which ones he hits. if the spell targets each creature in burst, that's what it does.
 

Remove ads

Top