to smite or not to smite

Wolf72

Explorer
This is directed towards pathfinder rules, but would probably be appropriate in any 3x rule set.

If a creature has the smite ability it has + to attack (it's cha mod if positive) and a + to damage (based on HD)

do levels count as hit dice for smite? a 4th level resolute (axiomatic) human warrior would get +1 dmg (for base HD) or +4 dmg (for 4 HD)?

it's easy enough if the template is applied to a standard HD critter (say a bear or lion). If you have a race of humanoids with that template would you allow their N/PC level count as HD for purposes of the template.

thanks for any input
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, I don't find a "smite" entry in the universal monster rules, but generally HD counts both racial HD and character class levels. So it would be +4 damage in your example. Note that humans don't have any base racial HD at all.
 

Well, I don't find a "smite" entry in the universal monster rules, but generally HD counts both racial HD and character class levels. So it would be +4 damage in your example. Note that humans don't have any base racial HD at all.

What he said.

If the entry says just "Hit Dice" like Smite does it doesn't matter what the source of the HD is.

If it says "racial Hit Dice" then HD from class levels don't count.
 

thanks both,

smite is not in universal monster rules ... you'll find it under monster advancement with the celestial, fiendish, entropic and resolute simple templates.
 


Remove ads

Top