Tome of Battle/Initiate Action

prospero63

First Post
I'm having a hard time finding a definitive rule for this.

Let's pick a maneuver, say Bonesplitting Strike. The initiation action is 1 standard action. If the character gets multiple attacks in a round (for the sake of discussion, let's say they get 2 attacks per round due to level) would the character be able to use one of their attacks during a full attack action to initiate the maneuver and the other attack normal (or potentially to initiate another action that is a standard action)?

TIA.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No. If you use a standard action to initiate a manuever, then you can't take the full round action needed for a full attack.
 

Victim said:
No. If you use a standard action to initiate a manuever, then you can't take the full round action needed for a full attack.

That would seem to make sense, I just wanted to be sure.

So you use the standard action to initiate the maneuver. The maneuver provides for the attack in the same round ("as part of this maneuver you make a single melee attack"). At that point you can either take a move action (and/or swift, immediate, all those funky "one off" type actions) or hang tight and wait for next round (since you get a standard and a move in a round).
 

prospero63 said:
That would seem to make sense, I just wanted to be sure.

So you use the standard action to initiate the maneuver. The maneuver provides for the attack in the same round ("as part of this maneuver you make a single melee attack"). At that point you can either take a move action (and/or swift, immediate, all those funky "one off" type actions) or hang tight and wait for next round (since you get a standard and a move in a round).

Yeah.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top