Touch Attacks and DR

Hypersmurf said:
It does it by making the attack a touch attack... and therefore not negated by DR.

If I have a magical weapon:

Biter: This +1 evil-outsiderbane longsword glows with a blue light when fiends are within 60 feet. Attacks made with this longsword are not negated by the DR of evil outsiders.

... would one assume that a demon's DR 10/good applies or not?

-Hyp.

Where's this weapon from? I don't see it in the SRD at all.

And it should read "Damage from this ...." not "attacks made with this ....".
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Jhulae said:
Where's this weapon from? I don't see it in the SRD at all.

And it should read "Damage from this ...." not "attacks made with this ....".

It uses the language "attacks are not negated" in the description of DR. I've used it again in the description of this weapon (which, indeed, is not in the SRD).

I've used the same wording as the DR text. So as written, what happens when someone uses the weapon against an evil outsider with DR?

-Hyp.
 

The wording doesn't make any sense in that sentence.

I'm not going to be drawn into an arguement about it, because it's 'Damage Reduction', not 'Attack Reduction'.
 


For one specific attack type that has *never* dealt physical damage, until they started adding on extra feats and such in extra books.

Some monsters deliver ability damage by their touches. That kind of damage isn't negated by DR. No monsters (that was out when the core book was written) deal *weapon* type damages by their touches. Extra stuff added on later on shows the wording to be poor, but that does *not* change the intent of what the rule meant.

That's it. I'm done. I know how I'm ruling it. Whether it's the way the rule was intended or whether it's a house rule, weapons that somehow hit by touch attacks have the damage they deal reduced by Damage Reduction unless the weapon can normally overcome such DR.
 
Last edited:

Jhulae said:
For one specific attack type that has *never* dealt physical damage, until they started adding on extra feats and such in extra books.

Some monsters deliver ability damage by their touches. That kind of damage isn't negated by DR. No monster (that was out when the core book was written) deals weapon type damages by their touches.

Wraith
Medium Undead (Incorporeal)
Attack: Incorporeal touch +5 melee (1d4 plus 1d6 Constitution drain)


-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Wraith
Medium Undead (Incorporeal)
Attack: Incorporeal touch +5 melee (1d4 plus 1d6 Constitution drain)


-Hyp.

And that damage, which is magical undead, negative energy, chill of the grave, whatever, isn't affected by DR. Because it's magical.

It's not a *weapon* that's dealing the damage. It's the magical incorporeal undead that's doing so.
 



Jhulae said:
And that damage, which is magical undead, negative energy, chill of the grave, whatever, isn't affected by DR. Because it's magical.

So would a Scarab of Protection prevent that 1d4 damage, at the cost of one of its 12 charges?

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top