Touch of Golden Ice

The book seems a little vague to me, so forgive me if there seems like there is an obvious answer to this.

The save listed in BoED for Touch of Golden Ice is a DC 14. Is that a Fort save, or just a flat DC check?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Pretty sure it's a fort save. Though I think there are ways to increase the DC for that.

Quick question, would a Duskblade with Touch of Golden Ice be able to use that ability as part of a melee attack through his sword, using the Duskblade ability to cast any spell he knows with a range of touch through his sword?
 

Aleolus said:
Quick question, would a Duskblade with Touch of Golden Ice be able to use that ability as part of a melee attack through his sword, using the Duskblade ability to cast any spell he knows with a range of touch through his sword?

Nope. It's not a spell, so it wouldn't qualify.
 

IanB said:
Depending on your own interpretation of the rules for prerequisites, feats that have dex requirements, and thus class features of prestige classes that require said feats as prerequisites could also be lost.

Not a big fan of that myself, it gets complicated.

They're not "lost," exactly. You just can't use them.

But I'm afraid that's not "an interpretation." It's spelled out in so many words in the Feats chapter of the PHB.
 

mcgeedis said:
The book seems a little vague to me, so forgive me if there seems like there is an obvious answer to this.

The save listed in BoED for Touch of Golden Ice is a DC 14. Is that a Fort save, or just a flat DC check?

There is no such thing as a flat DC check. ;)

It's a Fort save (like against poison & disease), it probably says so somewhere in the text. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 

Pretty sure it's a fort save. Though I think there are ways to increase the DC for that.

Quick question, would a Duskblade with Touch of Golden Ice be able to use that ability as part of a melee attack through his sword, using the Duskblade ability to cast any spell he knows with a range of touch through his sword?
 


Mouseferatu said:
They're not "lost," exactly. You just can't use them.

But I'm afraid that's not "an interpretation." It's spelled out in so many words in the Feats chapter of the PHB.
I'd guess IanB was talking about whether they lose prestige class abilities for 'losing' feats: Whether meeting a prerequisite with a feat counts as using it, plus the so-called CW16 rule (and the famous universe-exploding Dragon Disciple). :D


glass.
 
Last edited:

glass said:
I'd guess IanB was talking about whether they lose prestige class abilities for 'losing' feats: The so-called CW16 rule (and the famous universe-exploding Dragon Disciple). :D

Ah. Guess I never considered that an "interpretation" either, since it's spelled out in an official (if not core) source, and is consistent with similar situations (i.e. the feats) that are spelled out in the core rules.

I'd have to assume that, if it's the PrC itself that causes you to fail to qualify, that it's an exception to the rule. Otherwise, as you say, there are a lot of really confused dragon disciples out there. ;)
 

Mouseferatu said:
I'd have to assume that, if it's the PrC itself that causes you to fail to qualify, that it's an exception to the rule. Otherwise, as you say, there are a lot of really confused dragon disciples out there. ;)

I would rather say, that the dragon disciple is an exception to the rule, and not an example for a more generic exception. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 

Remove ads

Top