Transposing Lunge with Aegis of Shielding

Mengu

First Post
How does Transposing Lunge work with Aegis of Shielding?

My interpretation was:

Marked enemy attacks ally.
Marked enemy does damage to ally.
Swordmage uses Shielding Aegis to reduce damage.
Swordmage uses Transposing Lunge as part of Shielding Aegis to attack marked enemy.
Swordmage teleports marked enemy to an adjacent space.
Marked enemy continues with its remaining actions.

But I seem to have a disagreement with another player. He says it's an immediate interrupt, not an immediate reaction, and therefore, the teleportation should completely negate the attack. His argument:

Aegis of Shielding/Trans Lunge combo is an immediate interrupt.
Immediate interrupts happen before the triggering event is resolved.
The triggering event is invalidated so the action is invalid (no valid target).

I understand that immediate interrupts are sometimes meant to negate an attack, I have no problem with that. But I just can't wrap my head around how an interrupt that reduces damage (Shielding Aegis) can turn into an interupt that negates the attack when combined with another power.

If someone can give me a clean explanation of how this is supposed to work by the rules, I'd really appreciate it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

D&D Compendium said:
Swordmage Attack 3Transposing Lunge
You thrust at your enemy, a flash engulfs it, and it suddenly appears elsewhere.
Encounter Arcane, Teleportation, Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Target: One creature
Attack: Intelligence vs. AC
Hit: 2[W] + Intelligence modifier damage, and you teleport the target into a space adjacent to you.
Aegis of Shielding: When you use your aegis of shielding immediate interrupt, you can use this power against the target as part of the interrupt, even if the target is beyond your reach.

D&D Compendium said:
Aegis of Shielding
You create an arcane link between you and an enemy, allowing you to blunt its attacks against your allies.
At-Will Arcane
Minor Action Close burst 2
Target: One creature in burst
Effect: You mark the target. The target remains marked until you use this power against another target. If you mark other creatures using other powers, the target is still marked. A creature can be subject to only one mark at a time. A new mark supersedes a mark that was already in place.

If your marked target makes an attack that doesn’t include you as a target, it takes a –2 penalty to attack rolls. If that attack hits and the marked target is within 10 squares of you, you can use an immediate interrupt to reduce the damage dealt by that attack to any one creature by an amount equal to 5 + your Constitution modifier.

At 11th level, reduce the damage dealt by 10 + your Constitution modifier. At 21st level, reduce the damage dealt by 15 + your Constitution modifier.

So, as far as I can see:

An enemy that you have marked attacks an ally within 10 squares of you. This triggers Aegis of Shielding if the attack hits, and you reduce damage. At the same time, you also get to make an attack, and if that hits, you teleport the marked enemy to your side.

This is actually a really good point, and I can't see how to resolve it. Normally, the Aegis of Shielding would lower the amount of damage done as an immediate interrupt, which is fine. However, with this, the immediate interrupt (that is triggered on a hit, not an attack RAW), can be entirely negated - but if it hit, it must do damage, but it can't do damage because the enemy can't reach, so it didn't hit, but if it didn't hit then it couldn't have triggered the immediate reaction in the first place.

*head explodes*

Um, help? Either I'm reading this wrong or the Transposing Lunge needs to be listed as an Immediate Reaction, not Interrupt.
 

That's really weird. :erm:

My interpretation was:

Marked enemy attacks ally.
Marked enemy does damage to ally.
Swordmage uses Shielding Aegis to reduce damage.
Swordmage uses Transposing Lunge as part of Shielding Aegis to attack marked enemy.
Swordmage teleports marked enemy to an adjacent space.
Marked enemy continues with its remaining actions.

That's how I see it. Otherwise, there's no other way to resolve it. Have you checked erratas to see if Shielding Aegis was made into an Immediate Reaction and not an Interrupt? Due to how those powers work, it can't be an interrupt without negating the intended effects.

... unless I'm missing something...
 

A) Interrupts can negate that which they interrupt.
C) Aegis of Shielding interrupts (if it didn't it couldn't reduce damage)
D) Transposing Lunge happens as a part of Aegis of Shielding
E) Transposing Lunge interrupts
F) Transposing Lunge can potentially negate the attack.

If some aspect of an interrupt changes the parameters of an attack, then the attack is re-resolved using the new parameters. In this case, the target is no longer in melee range of the attacker and the power used to attack might miss.

It won't negate area, or close attacks, however, and ranged attacks will only be negated if the attacker's new position puts the target out of range, or if the attack roll was within 2 of failure and the attack switches to long range.
 

A) Interrupts can negate that which they interrupt.
C) Aegis of Shielding interrupts (if it didn't it couldn't reduce damage)
D) Transposing Lunge happens as a part of Aegis of Shielding
E) Transposing Lunge interrupts
F) Transposing Lunge can potentially negate the attack.

If some aspect of an interrupt changes the parameters of an attack, then the attack is re-resolved using the new parameters. In this case, the target is no longer in melee range of the attacker and the power used to attack might miss.

It won't negate area, or close attacks, however, and ranged attacks will only be negated if the attacker's new position puts the target out of range, or if the attack roll was within 2 of failure and the attack switches to long range.

Draco has the right of it, but in the interests of total clarity I'd add that, if you miss with transposing lunge (thereby not teleporting the target adjacent to you), your aegis of shielding still reduces the damage from the attack.
 

A) Interrupts can negate that which they interrupt.
C) Aegis of Shielding interrupts (if it didn't it couldn't reduce damage)
D) Transposing Lunge happens as a part of Aegis of Shielding
E) Transposing Lunge interrupts
F) Transposing Lunge can potentially negate the attack.

I understand how interrupting an attack can potentially negate the attack. But there are powers that interrupt different actions. If I look at powers like Shield (WiU2) or Disruptive Strike (RaA3) they interrupt the attack. If I look at a power like Weave Through the Fray (RaU6) it interrupts movement. Aegis of Shielding seems to interrupt damage. I don't see how it interrupts the attack.

I want to believe it works the way you're describing it, but I need more precise wording to fully understand it. When you say Aegis of Shielding interrupts, you're not really saying what it interrupts. It doesn't seem very intuitive to me that it would interrupts the attack, when it only has some effect on the damage and not the attack.
 

I want to believe it works the way you're describing it, but I need more precise wording to fully understand it.

Ok, how about...

If that attack hits and the marked target is within 10 squares of you, you can use an immediate interrupt to ...

PHB pg 268 said:
Each immediate action-usually a power-defines its specific trigger.

...

An immediate interrupt lets you jump in when a certain trigger condition arises, acting before the trigger resolves.

In this case the specific trigger is the creature hitting with an attack. That means the Aegis resolves before the attack does, just like Shield does.
 

I understand how interrupting an attack can potentially negate the attack. But there are powers that interrupt different actions. If I look at powers like Shield (WiU2) or Disruptive Strike (RaA3) they interrupt the attack. If I look at a power like Weave Through the Fray (RaU6) it interrupts movement. Aegis of Shielding seems to interrupt damage. I don't see how it interrupts the attack.

I want to believe it works the way you're describing it, but I need more precise wording to fully understand it. When you say Aegis of Shielding interrupts, you're not really saying what it interrupts. It doesn't seem very intuitive to me that it would interrupts the attack, when it only has some effect on the damage and not the attack.

Aegis of Shielding interrupts the hit, obviously, as that is the trigger condition. It's really simple. What is the -explicit trigger condition-? The interrupt happens before that, and forces re-resolution after the fact.
 

Draco has the right of it, but in the interests of total clarity I'd add that, if you miss with transposing lunge (thereby not teleporting the target adjacent to you), your aegis of shielding still reduces the damage from the attack.

This is correct. Hense why the word 'potentially.'
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top