Triggered Actions - Some Clarifications?

Siberys

Adventurer
I know that multiple creatures, if they have the appropriate action, can all trigger off of a single triggering action. What about a single creature with multiple powers triggered by the action? For example, suppose there were an immediate action power that triggered when an enemy provoked an opportunity attack from you; would you be able to both use that power AND an opportunity attack? And if yes, what order would they trigger in?

I think the answer is yes, you can; they trigger in an order of the player's choice. But I'm not sure.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There's no hard and fast rule regarding this situation, except for the following:

Opportunity actions and Immediate Interrupts occur before the trigger.

Immediate reactions occur after the trigger.

So, if the immediate action was a reaction, it'll obviously occur after the opportunity action. If an interrupt... well... there's no rule.

It doesn't come up that often tho. I'd simply go with the simplest suggestion; let the player controlling the abilities decide.
 

I'd simply go with the simplest suggestion; let the player controlling the abilities decide.

Which, for most purposes, means the OA should come before the immediate interrupt because it is a near-infinite resource, whereas immediate actions are by definition limited to once per round and are often encounter powers to boot.

In fact, I can't really think of a reason to do it the other way around unless the OA is going to enhance the hit chance or damage of the interrupt.
 

Which, for most purposes, means the OA should come before the immediate interrupt because it is a near-infinite resource, whereas immediate actions are by definition limited to once per round and are often encounter powers to boot.

In fact, I can't really think of a reason to do it the other way around unless the OA is going to enhance the hit chance or damage of the interrupt.


Stategic implicationa are why it's not a bad reason to put it in the hands of the player.
 

Okay, then; now suppose that one of the two triggered actions (whichever was done first) caused forced movement. Would the second triggered action still trigger, assuming the target stayed in range? Again, I'm inclined to yes, but want to clarify.
 

Okay, then; now suppose that one of the two triggered actions (whichever was done first) caused forced movement. Would the second triggered action still trigger, assuming the target stayed in range? Again, I'm inclined to yes, but want to clarify.

Unless the forced movement negates the second triggered action somehow, then yes, as long as the target is in range the second triggered action goes off too.

So lets say you have a monster with Reach 3 and Threatening Reach. Additionally, the monster has an immediate interrupt that triggers on a an enemy within 3 a square, granting an attack. PC then leaves a threatened square in order to get into melee with the monster. OA goes off and the monster makes a basic attack. The basic attack pulls the PC one square. Assuming the PC is still within range of the immediate interrupt, which it should be, then the interrupt goes off too. Now if the OA caused a Push 2, and the monster chose to do the push, and the interrupt was Melee: 3, then the interrupt would not go off since the target is then out of range.

Sorry, don't have a better example since I'm not sure of a combination where this sort of thing would actually occur.
 



And a variant:
Say bad1 moves, triggering an OA from PC1. PC1's OA hits and _that_ hit creates a situation where if bad1 moves the PC can take an immediate interrupt.

Does the interrupt trigger from the original move?

  • bad1 moves.
  • PC get OA. OA power creates a condition where if bad1 moves, PC can take immediate interrupt.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top