Tumbling Through Enemy-Occupied Space

Lasher Dragon

First Post
OK, so the DC is 25. If you fail, you provoke an AoO and you are back where you started. Do I still get a standard action if I fail?

My dice were horribly cursed last night, to the point where I had to threaten them with open flame to get a roll above 5 LOL.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Cool... next time my halfling rogue/ranger fails to tumble through someone's space they are gonna sprout 2 arrows after they take their AoO hehehe
 

Hmm ...

Reading the rules on Tumbling, I am possessed by this question:

Where does it say that a particular failed Tumble check ends your movement?

Let's say I have a speed of 30'. I move 10' up to my target and attempt to tumble through him. I fail, so I end up in the square I just left, and draw an AoO. Why can't I continue up to 30' as single move action, attempting to tumble through him again?

The closest thing I can see is:

SRD said:
Failure means you stop before entering the enemy-occupied area and provoke an attack of opportunity from that enemy.

However, that could conceivably just mean that I don't get to enter the enemy-occupied square, and not that I lose all remaining movement from my initial move action.
 

I believe Patryn is correct, you still got to move your movement and don't loose any at all, you just get an attack, what ay be bad enough anyway.
 

LMAO Cool - my little guy is pretty psychotic - next time he's gonna keep trying to roll through hehehe (well, as long as I've got the HPs to spare).

All I need is an 11... better half. Last night I think I tried 6 times and failed every damn time LOL
 

Crothian said:
you still have a standard action left, no reason it would be lost.

...unless you were on the second movement increment. For example your speed is 30'. You move 20', then attempt to tumble for 10' before you get stopped by failed attempt to pass the opponent. The total is over 30' (tumble counts double 20' + 10'*2 = 40') so you are basically hustling and wouldn't have the Standard Action available.

Note that this assumes the interpretation that you aren't moving 1/2 speed during the entire movement, just the tumbling portion of your travels. That could be debated. It also assumes you don't take the -10 penalty to tumble at full rate.

BTW I don't know for certain if you started by trying to tumble immediately through an occupied square and failed that it counts as burning up your entire move action. I think it would. You used the move action (or part of it) and failed and stopped just as you started, even though there was no effective movement.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
However, that could conceivably just mean that I don't get to enter the enemy-occupied square, and not that I lose all remaining movement from my initial move action.

I was thinking of treating it like stepping on a caltrop while running or charging, where I'm pretty sure you don't get to move further from that Move Action. But then those aren't Move actions, they are Full Actions that have special limitations on having to have one contiguous movement (barring those 90' turn Feats). *shrug* I just get the spirit that you burn the rest of your movement, but that could be read either way in that limited text. Can't think of any other appropriate references off hand.
 

Yeah how does it work exactly? If you're tumbling through a 1-square creature, is it DC 25 to move 2 squares through him? Or DC 25 to move into the occupied square and then DC 15 to move out of it? Or something else?
 

silentspace said:
Yeah how does it work exactly? If you're tumbling through a 1-square creature, is it DC 25 to move 2 squares through him? Or DC 25 to move into the occupied square and then DC 15 to move out of it? Or something else?
I have wondered the same thing. My Shadowdancer's tumble bonus is high enough that I just rolled against DC 25 twice without giving it much thought, but it is ambiguous.

I'm sure it's DC 25 to enter the occupied square, because it says "Failure means you stop before entering the enemy-occupied area". It's leaving the occupied square that I'm not sure about.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top