Two-handed unarmed Disarm?

Ciaran

First Post
If you are unarmed when you attempt to disarm an opponent, you are considered to be using a light weapon. If you use a two-handed weapon, you gain a +4 bonus on your roll. If you use both hands when making an unarmed disarm attempt (as opposed to, say, having a shield or weapon in one hand and making the disarm attempt with your free hand), does your unarmed strike count as a two-handed weapon?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


There was an optional rule in Sword and Fist that allowed a two-handed unarmed disarm to count as a weapon of the creature's size category; the equivalent in 3.5 would be to treat it as a one-handed weapon (no bonus, no penalty).

I'm not sure if this has actually appeared in any 3.5 supplements, though.

-Hyp.
 


If you apply a bonus for using two hands, what sort of penalty do you apply for using none? But, to answer this question more definitively: "...does your unarmed strike count as a two-handed weapon?"

As KD said, no, and it's because "(An unarmed strike is considered a light weapon, so you always take a penalty when trying to disarm an opponent by using an unarmed strike.)"

Oh yeah, don't forget the funny argument that if you have Improved Unarmed Strike, you don't actually wind up with the weapon because you're considered "armed." ;)
 

I've got the Sword and Fist text in front of me now - p69.

Rules Variants: A DM might use these variants to address issues that sometimes come up with fighter and monk characters.

Double-Handed Disarm: Attempting to disarm an opponent with both hands ought to be a lot easier than attempting to do so with a single hand. The two-weapon fighting rules are too stringent to represent the advantage of using both hands. As a variant, both hands used together count as a weapon that's the size of the attacker. (Used on its own, a character's hand counts as a weapon two size categories smaller than the character.)

For example, if Ember uses a bare hand to try to take an enemy's longsword away from him, the defender gets a +8 bonus on his opposed melee attack because the sword (Medium size) is two size categories larger than an unarmed attack (Tiny for a Medium-size character). If she uses both hands, however, the two hands count as a single Medium-size weapon. She still makes a single attack (not two for two hands), but the defender no longer gets the +8 bonus for having a bigger weapon.


Maybe see if you can convince your DM to adopt a 3.5 translation :)

-Hyp.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top