Two hands needed for grapple?


log in or register to remove this ad

I ruled with a devil I made a while back that you need to have one hand free to grapple with someone if you want the result of the grapple to be picking that person up and hitting other foes with that person.

They don't even have to be pinned - although that would make them stop flailing and shouting as much while they get swung around, as per the devil's full attack bonus.
 

sure they have appendages, but can you explain a whale in the middle of a completely dry temple grappling a large pulsating blob?

Neither can I, but why worry about it, grappling is simply another attacking action used for fighting VERY close together, sure in humanoid terms it may be seen as sort of wrestling, but when you get into the weirder creatures of DND, strange stuff can happen :p .


Damn Whales :heh:
 

You need only one hand. The description for the Improved Grab monster ability mentions it.

When I read the Improved Grab monster ability, I find this:

"Improved Grab (Ex): If a creature with this special attack hits with a melee weapon (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. No initial touch attack is required. Unless otherwise noted, improved grab works only against opponents at least one size category smaller than the creature. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a –20 penalty on grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature’s descriptive text). When a creature gets a hold after an improved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space. This act does not provoke attacks of opportunity. It can even move (possibly carrying away the opponent), provided it can drag the opponent’s weight."

It mentions melee weapon, claw and bite but says nothing about having a free hand.

A bear and an owlbear both have Improved Grab with a claw attack. A crocodile, leopard and lion have Improved Grab with a bite attack.
 

Amal Shukup said:
Describe for me a way that this can conceivably happen, and I'm going to let you try it. Grab with hands, 'hold' by pressing him against a convenient surface? Fine. Your hands are manacled and you want to hold him against a wall way over there? Bull Rush him first. You want to hold him against the floor? Trip him first...

I LOVE the flexibility 3/3.5 offers in terms of combat options

"I trip him" "<roll roll> Yup. "I use my follow up hit (Imp. Trip) to grapple/hold him to the floor with this handy chair I'm holding" Cool....A'Mal

Sounds feesible. Although, I still have questions. Grab, as per the RAW, is listed as 'To grab a target, the character must make a successful melee touch attack.'

Simple, don't you think?
 

Fangor the Fierce said:
Sounds feesible. Although, I still have questions. Grab, as per the RAW, is listed as 'To grab a target, the character must make a successful melee touch attack.'

Granted. However, given that you can conceivably make touch attacks with swords, grenadlike weapons, and thrown ropes, I don't understand how making a touch attack with a chair would be any different.

Simple, don't you think?

Now I'm more confused. :)
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Now I'm more confused. :)

Actually, that makes two of us... ;)

Although, it says MELEE touch attacks.... which leaves grenadelike weapons and such out... but that doesn't leave out the optional melee touch attacks with weapons meant for melee combat or improvised weapons....
 

Fangor the Fierce said:
Although, it says MELEE touch attacks.... which leaves grenadelike weapons and such out...

I agree. That's why *I* said "touch attacks" - not "melee touch attacks." If you can make a touch attack with a net, I see no problems making a touch attack with a chair.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top