unarmed attacks and touch spells

Maitre Du Donjon

First Post
Hello all,

I'm sure its been discussed to death, but how are unarmed attacks that deliver touch spells resolved?

Take a monk/caster. Normally, casting a touch spell includes the act of touching (at least trying to) the target. Could a monk delivering a touch spell make an attack at the same time? I suppose not, well at least not in the same round? What happens if the touching is delayed to the next round, and the monk tries to attack his opponent? Could the touch spell be delivered even if the attack missed (ie touch AC beat, but not regular AC)?

I know there's a mouthful in there, thanks in advance_...

Maitre D
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If casting a touch spell, you can only try to deliver it with a touch attack the same round (as is notmal for touch spells).

If the spell has been cast in a previous round, you can try to deliver it with an unarmed strike, but if the attack doesn't hit, the spell is not delivered (if the roll was high enough to normally beat touch AC but not to beat normal AC).

I believe the above is clarified in the FAQ.
 


Remove ads

Top