Unarmed strikes, Natural attacks and Grapples

glass said:
Nonsense. You can combine any natural weapon with manufactured weapons, and in that case they are considered secondary, even if they are normally primary.
Depends. You can't do an unarmed strike and then claw, just like you can't do a claw and wield a weapon. You can make secondary natural weapon attacks with a normal weapon, but usually not primary ones. (Sword + bite = yes, Sword + claws = No)

There's a few monsters somewhere i've seen statted up that back this up, but I can't seem to find them in the SRD at the moment.

Edit: Found one. Skeleton (Human Warrior)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Bront said:
Depends. You can't do an unarmed strike and then claw, just like you can't do a claw and wield a weapon. You can make secondary natural weapon attacks with a normal weapon, but usually not primary ones. (Sword + bite = yes, Sword + claws = No)

There's a few monsters somewhere i've seen statted up that back this up, but I can't seem to find them in the SRD at the moment.

Edit: Found one. Skeleton (Human Warrior)

The human warrior skeleton doesn't use any claws in conjunction with his scimitar because he's got a scimitar in one hand, and a shield in the other.

Compare, rather, the minotaur... who can make a primary attack with his Gore (full Str bonus), or a secondary attack with his Gore while wielding his axe (half Str bonus, -5 attack roll).

The relevant rule:
Some creatures combine attacks with natural and manufactured weapons when they make a full attack. When they do so, the manufactured weapon attack is considered the primary attack unless the creature’s description indicates otherwise and any natural weapons the creature also uses are considered secondary natural attacks. These secondary attacks do not interfere with the primary attack as attacking with an off-hand weapon does, but they take the usual –5 penalty (or –2 with the Multiattack feat) for such attacks, even if the natural weapon used is normally the creature’s primary natural weapon.

-Hyp.
 

Klaus said:
Like I said, "according the the monster stats in the MM". Whenever a creature with manufactured + natural attacks is listed, the secondary attacks come last.
But who says you have to use them in the order they are listed?


glass.
 

Bront said:
Depends. You can't do an unarmed strike and then claw, just like you can't do a claw and wield a weapon. You can make secondary natural weapon attacks with a normal weapon, but usually not primary ones. (Sword + bite = yes, Sword + claws = No)
You can't use a claw attack with a claw that is holding a weapon, but you can use your other claw (for example) if you are holding a longsword. Since unarmed strikes never 'take up' any particular body part you can always combine them with any natural attack in a full attack.

EDIT: Or, what Hyp said.


glass.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top