danielinthwolvesden
First Post
I had a shaman type, with alter self to grant gills underwater. I needed to cast a spell- the DM objected as "vocal comp don't work underwater", So we looked it up. Nothing in the PHB. Nothing in the DMG. Nothing in MotP. Clearly, several races who have gill in the MM have no problem. Made up a rule on the spot, and went on.
Later, I found a rule for this in the Legends & lairs book - "Seafarers handbook", which says it is a DC10+sl, but no check if "the caster is under the influence of a spell that grants the ability the breathe water". DM said "alter self" doesn't grant that ability- I just grew gills. Semantics i think. They he still says it should be very difficult.
Here's the point- if it WAS "very difficult" don't you think it'd be clearly spelled out in one of the core books?
And- is there another rule on this, in another source?
Later, I found a rule for this in the Legends & lairs book - "Seafarers handbook", which says it is a DC10+sl, but no check if "the caster is under the influence of a spell that grants the ability the breathe water". DM said "alter self" doesn't grant that ability- I just grew gills. Semantics i think. They he still says it should be very difficult.
Here's the point- if it WAS "very difficult" don't you think it'd be clearly spelled out in one of the core books?
And- is there another rule on this, in another source?